The Open

Return to the game’s roots

Founded in 1860, The Open is the world’s oldest golf tournament. The last major of the season, it is traditionally played in the United Kingdom during the third week of July, every year on a different links course, and by definition, always by the sea, in sometimes challenging weather conditions.

Golf’s original championship, The Open is staged on a rotation of demanding venues in England, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

Together with the USGA, The R&A governs the sport of golf worldwide, sharing a commitment to a single code for the Rules of Golf, Rules of Amateur Status, the world handicapping system and Equipment Standards.

Organized by The R&A, supported by Rolex

Since 1872, the winner of The Open has been awarded the iconic Claret Jug and is named the Champion Golfer of the Year. Organized by The R&A, The Open usually returns to the home of golf, St Andrews, every five years. Rolex is a Patron of The Open and its clocks have adorned courses hosting the Championship every year since 1981.

Jack Nicklaus

If you’re going to be a player people will remember, you have to win The Open at St Andrews.

Jack Nicklaus

The weight of history

To win this Championship requires tackling not only the weight of history but also the forces of nature in the form of formidable links courses and unpredictable weather conditions. Lifting the iconic Claret Jug has been the crowning achievement for some of the game’s greatest players, including Rolex Testimonees Tom Watson, Tiger Woods and The Big Three – Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus and Gary Player.

Tiger Woods

It may be years before I fully appreciate it but I am inclined to believe that winning The Open at the Home of Golf is the ultimate achievement in the sport.

Tiger Woods

They conquered The Open

Claret Jug