Browser update required

Welcome to In order to provide you with the best possible experience, requires an up-to-date browser. Please use a newer browser to explore our site.

Follow Rolex on WeChat by scanning the QR code.
Rolex building

A Perfect Match

Rolex and The Championships, Wimbledon

The Oyster Perpetual

Datejust 41

The Rolex Datejust is the modern archetype of the classic watch, thanks to its timeless aesthetics and reliability. A perfect match with the courts at The Championships, Wimbledon, where tradition meets excellence.

Rolex Oyster Perpetual Datejust 41

Official Timekeeper of Wimbledon

40 Years of Golden Moments

The partnership between Rolex and tennis dates back to 1978 when Rolex became the Official Timekeeper of The Championships, Wimbledon. This marked the beginning of a privileged association between two partners driven by the same pursuit of excellence. They celebrate their 40th anniversary this year.


Navratilova vs Evert

1978 Ladies’ Final

Borg vs McEnroe

1981 Men's Final 3rd set tie-break

Borg vs McEnroe

1981 Men's Final 4th set MP

Edberg vs Becker

1990 Men's Final

Ivanisevic vs Rafter

2001 Men's Final

Federer vs Philippoussis

2003 Men's Final

Federer vs Roddick

2009 Men's Final

2017 Singles Champions

Roger Federer and Garbiñe Muguruza

Rolex is proud to support the 2017 Singles Champions, Roger Federer and Garbiñe Muguruza. Federer's straight-sets victory in last year's final clinched an unprecedented eighth Wimbledon crown, and the Swiss phenomenon has since extended his record total of Grand Slam® titles to 20. Muguruza's powerful and passionate style of play earned a maiden Wimbledon title and helped her claim the World No. 1 ranking for a period. It was the Spanish-Venezuelan's second Grand Slam® trophy, following her triumph at the French Open the previous year.

A tennis net

The Championships, Wimbledon

New Guard

Rolex has forged relationships with some of the world’s greatest players. From Lucas Pouille and Dominic Thiem to Jeļena Ostapenko and Caroline Garcia, Rolex counts some of the sport’s most exciting athletes among its contemporary line-up of tennis Testimonees. They join the Rolex team of former greats, including Björn Borg and Chris Evert, men and women who have carved a special place in tennis legend through their achievements on and off the court.

The initials of the All England Lawn Tennis Club

Every Rolex tells a story

Discover the stories of major tennis champions

A Rolex is always cherished, but it also transcends its material value and takes on a personal meaning. Whether it is a milestone of success or a reminder that with hard work and perseverance anything is possible, a Rolex watch represents all manner of accomplishment. For these tennis champions, their Rolex watches tell a story, bringing to life exceptional moments.

A Rolex clock with Roman numerals

Rolex & Wimbledon
A Perfect Match


The partnership between Rolex and Wimbledon spans four decades, 2018 marking its 40th anniversary. Since 1978, Rolex has been the Official Timekeeper at a tournament where tradition and innovation are valued in equal measure, mirroring Rolex’s own ethos.

Both partners have continually evolved, embracing new technology to improve production and performance, while maintaining the traditions and methods that have made them great.

Rolex, Official Timekeeper

Rolex clocks keep the official time inside this historic venue, on court and throughout the grounds.

Wimbledon traditions

Wimbledon would not be Wimbledon without the prestigious grass courts and treasured traditions: the strawberries and cream, competitors dressed almost entirely in white, the politeness of players and spectators alike, the highly trained ball boys and girls, and the English garden setting, complete with climbing ivy. All combine to form Wimbledon’s unique, much-loved character.

What makes Wimbledon special

Wimbledon, the only Grand Slam® tournament played on grass and where participants are required to wear predominantly white, is hosted by the exclusive All England Club in south-west London. While it has kept its original surface, the grass has been adapted to the modern game.

To ensure the precision play for which the tournament is renowned, Perennial Ryegrass has been scientifically chosen for its durability and speed underfoot. The lawns are relined on each court every year, and rolled and mowed to exactly 8 mm daily for the tournament.