劳力士与探险 封面

永不止步 突破极限

第一章

劳力士品牌历史与探险活动密不可分。

无论是攀登喜马拉雅高峰,穿越极地冰冠,还是潜入深海,劳力士腕表参与了二十世纪众多极具挑战性的探险创举。劳力士以这些探险为契机,将大自然作为天然实验室,检测并改进劳力士腕表的可靠性与坚固性,从中获取的宝贵反馈对后续腕表研发助益良多。

探险家型诞生于1953年,旨在纪念艾德蒙・希拉里爵士(Sir Edmund Hillary)与丹增・诺吉(Tenzing Norgay)首次成功登顶珠峰这一历史壮举。 

探险家型 II诞生于1971年,性能卓越可靠,在极端环境下依然表现出色,成为极地探险家、岩洞学家及火山学家的理想腕表,在探险领域独占一席之地。多年来,这两款腕表陪伴杰出探险家探索各个角落,深入了解地球,并不懈求索保护地球的方法。

过去一世纪的探险活动旨在逐步追求三个目标:一是探索世界未知之域,二是打破人类耐力极限,三是观察地球环境,助力保护地球。面对这三项挑战,劳力士陪伴探险家踏上了勇敢无畏的征程。

勇于探索

1953年,艾德蒙・希拉里爵士与丹增・诺吉成功登顶珠峰,这一创举赢得举世赞誉。劳力士为此次探险提供蚝式恒动型腕表,在其中起到重要作用。

两位登山家成功登顶世界之巅后,劳力士于同年发布探险家型。这款腕表历经多年潜心研发。早在1930年代,劳力士就开始为喜马拉雅山地探险活动提供装备,从而观察劳力士腕表在高海拔极端环境中的运行状况。每次探险结束后,登山者会依据劳力士腕表的性能表现提供反馈,帮助劳力士提升腕表性能。正如手腕摆动可为机芯提供动力,探险家的亲身体验亦有助于劳力士精进制表工艺。劳力士腕表将不断陪伴探险家踏上更多探索之旅,前往偏僻地区探秘未知世界。 

登顶世界之巅第一人

攀登珠峰是一项极为艰巨的挑战。1953年5月,两位英国探险队成员成功登顶珠峰,站上世界之巅,赢得举世赞誉。劳力士亦参与了这项创举。

在珠峰上,每时每刻都攸关生死。凛冽严寒和极度缺氧的恶劣环境令身体备受折磨,造成巨大压力。正是在如此严酷的环境中,两位坚毅勇敢的登山者于1953年5月29日成功登顶世界最高峰,海拔8,848米(29,028英尺),成为世界攀登珠峰第一人。当时,季风暴风雪即将来临,登顶珠峰的最后希望落在这两位登山者身上。在非凡决心的激发下,新西兰养蜂人兼经验丰富的登山家艾德蒙・希拉里爵士与尼泊尔登山家丹增・诺吉攻克令众多先行者铩羽而归的挑战,成功登顶珠峰,名留青史。

这场探险由约翰・亨特爵士(Sir John Hunt)领导,英国喜马拉雅联合委员会(British Joint Himalayan Committee)负责筹备,该实体组织由伦敦皇家地理学会(Royal Geographical Society)及登山俱乐部(Alpine Club)联合创立,旨在监管珠峰攀登活动。探险队由16名队员组成,但由于物流方面的限制,便需要数百名搬运工来运送探险所需的数吨必要物资,

其中包括数十个装有精密设备的包裹,这些设备已仔细编入物资目录,随时可供使用。从专门设计的登山靴,到已经过风洞测试的帐篷,探险队面面俱到,为成功登顶做好周全准备。劳力士亦参与到这场探险之中,为探险队提供蚝式恒动型腕表。

“英国探险队成员佩戴了劳力士蚝式恒动型腕表,这些腕表在珠峰上再次证明其可靠性能,”约翰爵士在归途中写道,“它们计时如此精准,令我们深感欣慰。这确保了探险队成员全程都能保持时间同步。【……】。劳力士蚝式腕表性能出众,我们已将其视为攀登高山的重要装备。”

喜马拉雅山脉:天然实验室

险峻高峰为测试腕表是否坚固可靠提供了绝佳环境。对劳力士而言,喜马拉雅山脉便是理想的天然实验室。 

二十世纪上半叶,喜马拉雅山脉尚待征服的高峰吸引着全球各地的登山者。其中,最高峰珠穆朗玛峰尤为令人神往。怀着勇攀高峰的向往,以及在真实环境中测试腕表性能的渴望,劳力士决定与先锋登山者携手同行。1933年至1955年,至少17次珠峰探险活动皆配备劳力士腕表。

劳力士腕表屡次陪伴登山者首度登顶高峰,首先是1953年登顶海拔8,848米的世界最高峰珠峰,随后是1954年登顶海拔8,611米的世界第二高峰乔戈里峰;1955年登顶海拔8,586米的世界第三高峰干城章嘉峰;同年登顶海拔8,485米的世界第五高峰马卡鲁峰。 

喜马拉雅山间的瑞士登山先锋

安娜莉丝・洛纳(Annelies Lohner)是卓越的瑞士探险队创始人,他们成功登上多座世界高峰,登山装备包括劳力士蚝式恒动型腕表。

年轻有为的登山家安娜莉丝・洛纳来自坐落于伯尔尼阿尔卑斯山脉(Bernese Alps)少女峰山脚的格林德瓦(Grindelwald)村,二战结束后,她极具魄力地提议组建瑞士首支喜马拉雅山探险队。怀着探险激情与勇攀高峰的开拓精神,她成功说服瑞士阿尔卑斯研究基金会(Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research),支持她率队深入印度北部加尔瓦尔山脉(Garhwal Himal)地区的根戈德里(Gangotri)山间。

1947年5月至9月,探险队历时五个月勇攀崇山险峰,首度登顶凯达尔纳特峰(Kedarnath)、萨托潘斯峰(Satopanth)、科林迪峰(Kalindi,经由东北面)、巴拉巴拉峰(Balbala)及南达昆提峰(Nanda Ghunti),并探索了海拔在6,000至7,000米以上的乔克汉巴(Chaukhamba)群山。

劳力士为探险队员配备了蚝式恒动型腕表,全程伴其左右。这些腕表性能出色,成功经受住极端环境的考验。归程途中,登山者分享了腕表的防水性、精准度及恒动摆陀自动上链机芯的便捷实用。“每位队员都佩戴了劳力士腕表,这些腕表计时精准,功能实用,令人满意。无需手动上链这一点尤其令人赞赏,”探险队向导安德烈・罗奇(André Roch)于1947年7月7日在根戈德里营地写道。

在1948年举办的腕表博览会上,劳力士特地设立专门展柜,将探险队攀登过的高峰化为装饰背景,展示探险队员佩戴的劳力士腕表。

出色防水无惧冰川

劳力士蚝式表壳采用革新设计,具备出众防水性能。在其问世数年后,一位著名探险家在格陵兰探险之旅中测试了蚝式表壳。

灰尘和湿气入侵会对腕表内部造成永久损害,影响计时性能。为解决此难题,劳力士创始人汉斯・威尔斯多夫(Hans Wilsdorf)深知一项创新发明势在必行,劳力士由此研发出蚝式表壳。这款完全密封的表壳于1926年取得专利。劳力士定期邀请探险家佩戴蚝式腕表,在真实条件下测试蚝式表壳,确保表壳在任何环境中都能出色防水。1930年至1931年期间,极地探险家亨利・乔治・“吉诺”・沃特金斯(Henry Georges ‘Gino’ Watkins)沿格陵兰海岸展开探险,随身携带数只蚝式恒动型腕表。探险结束后,他向劳力士盛赞这些腕表,即便浸入冰冷海水,蚝式腕表依然运行如常。

故事不断延续……

继续探索

分享此页面

Rolex and exploration cover

Exploring to Push Boundaries

Chapter one

Exploration is inextricably linked to the history of Rolex.

Whether scaling the Himalayan peaks, crossing the polar ice caps or probing the ocean depths, Rolex watches accompanied some of the most challenging adventures of the 20th century. Each of these expeditions was an opportunity to test and improve the reliability and robustness of Rolex watches, using the world as a living laboratory. The constructive feedback that Rolex received proved invaluable for further developments.

The Explorer, launched in 1953, was born out of this shared experience, following the successful ascent of Mount Everest by Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay. 

Later, the Explorer II, introduced in 1971, carved out a place in the world of exploration thanks to its functions and ability to withstand the most extreme conditions. It became the watch of choice for polar explorers, speleologists and volcanologists. These two watches continue to accompany exceptional people on their expeditions to the far corners of the Earth, on quests to better understand the planet and find solutions for its protection.

In the past century, exploration has pursued three successive goals: to discover unknown parts of the world, to defy the limits of human endurance, and to observe the planet in order to better protect it. In these three challenges, Rolex has accompanied explorers on their intrepid journeys.

Discovery

The successful ascent of Mount Everest by Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay in 1953 was hailed around the globe. Rolex played its part by equipping the expedition with Oyster Perpetual watches.

The same year, following the mountaineers’ achievement, the Explorer was released. Its creation had been years in the making. As early as the 1930s, Rolex had begun to equip expeditions to the Himalayas in a bid to observe how its watches would behave in the extreme conditions at high altitude. After every trip, the climbers gave feedback on how the watches had performed, which enabled the brand to make improvements for future models. Just as a watch’s movement is propelled by the motions of the wearer, so watchmaking techniques advanced thanks to the explorers’ experiences, and Rolex timepieces have gone on to accompany many more voyages of discovery to the remotest areas of our planet. 

First to the Top of the World

Mount Everest is a climber's ultimate challenge. In May 1953, two members of a British expedition reached the summit of the legendary peak. Their achievement was hailed around the world, and Rolex played a part in it.

Every day spent on Everest is a question of survival. The body is tormented by the relentless cold, lack of oxygen, and pressures from the harsh environment. It was in these unforgiving conditions that, on 29 May 1953, two exceptionally courageous and determined men became the first to set foot at the top of the world’s highest mountain, at 8,848 metres (29,028 feet). For the members of their expedition, they represented the final hope of reaching the summit, as the monsoon snowstorms were expected in the coming days. Fuelled by an extraordinary resolve, New Zealand’s Sir Edmund Hillary, a beekeeper and experienced mountaineer, and Nepal’s Tenzing Norgay entered history by managing to succeed where the numerous previous attempts had failed.

The expedition was led by Sir John Hunt and organized by the British Joint Himalayan Committee, a British entity set up to oversee attempts on Everest and which was co-founded by the Royal Geographical Society and the Alpine Club. The expedition team itself comprised 16 members, but the logistical constraints of such a venture meant that hundreds of porters would be needed to carry the tons of essential supplies required throughout the trip.

This material included dozens of packages containing sophisticated equipment scrupulously inventoried and ready for use. From specially designed climbing boots to tents tested in wind tunnels, nothing had been overlooked to give this new attempt every chance of success. Rolex, too, was part of the adventure, for the expedition material also included Oyster Perpetual watches.

“The Rolex Oyster Perpetual watches, with which members of the British team were equipped, again proved their dependability on Everest,” wrote Sir John on his return. “We were delighted that they kept such accurate time. This ensured that synchronization of the time between the members of the team was maintained throughout. [...] They performed splendidly, and we have indeed come to look upon Rolex Oysters as an important part of high climbing equipment.” 

The Himalayas: a living laboratory 

High mountain ranges provide an excellent environment in which to measure a watch’s reliability and robustness. For Rolex, the Himalayas were the ideal living laboratory. 

During the first half of the 20th century, the unconquered peaks of the Himalayas held fascination and appeal for climbers the world over. One in particular captivated the imagination and reigned supreme – Mount Everest. This international attraction for the highest summits, combined with the possibility of testing its watches in real-life conditions, prompted Rolex to join forces with teams of pioneering mountaineers. Between 1933 and 1955, no fewer than 17 expeditions to the world’s highest peaks were equipped with the brand’s watches.

These timepieces witnessed a number of first ascents, starting with that of Everest in 1953 – the world’s highest mountain at 8,848 metres above sea level. It was followed by K2 in 1954, the second highest at 8,611 metres; Kangchenjunga in 1955, the third highest at 8,586 metres; and Makalu the same year, the world’s fifth highest peak at 8,485 metres. 

A Swiss trailblazer in the Himalayas

Annelies Lohner was behind an exceptional Swiss expedition to the world’s highest mountain range. Rolex Oyster Perpetual watches were included in the climbers’ equipment.

A young and talented climber from Grindelwald, a village at the foot of the Jungfrau in the Bernese Alps, Annelies Lohner showed remarkable strength of character when she proposed to set up the first Swiss expedition to the Himalayas after the Second World War. A pioneer of mountaineering with a passion for adventure, she managed to persuade the Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research to let her lead a team into the Gangotri mountain range, in the Garhwal Himal region of northern India.

In the five months from May to September 1947, the expedition achieved the first ascents of Kedarnath, Satopanth, Kalindi Peak (via the north-east face), Balbala and Nanda Ghunti, and made an exploration of the Chaukhamba massif, a group of summits over 6,000 and 7,000 metres.

To support the project, Rolex gave each team member an Oyster Perpetual watch to wear throughout the climb. These timepieces were with them at every turn and withstood the extreme conditions without ever letting them down. On their return, the climbers reported on the watches’ water tightness, precision and convenience in terms of the movement’s self-winding system using the Perpetual rotor. “The Rolex watches that we are each wearing keep surprisingly accurate time. They are very useful and we are delighted with them. The fact that we do not have to wind them is especially appreciated,” wrote André Roch, the expedition guide, from the Gangotri base camp on 7 July 1947.

At the 1948 watch fair after the team’s return, Rolex presented a showcase featuring several watches worn on the adventure, set against a decor depicting the summits that had been climbed.

Waterproof in icy waters

A revolution in terms of its perfect waterproofness, the Rolex Oyster case was tested a few years after its launch by a well-known explorer during an expedition to Greenland.

Dust, and especially moisture, can cause lasting damage to the inside of a watch and undermine its main function as a timekeeper. To solve this problem Rolex developed the Oyster case, under the impetus of its founder Hans Wilsdorf, who was convinced of the need for such an invention. The perfectly sealed case was patented in 1926. To ensure its waterproofness in all circumstances, Rolex regularly asked explorers to carry watches fitted with an Oyster case for testing in real-life conditions. Polar explorer Henry Georges ‘Gino’ Watkins took several Oyster Perpetual watches with him on an expedition along the coast of Greenland between 1930 and 1931. After the trip, he told Rolex of his admiration for these watches, which had been submerged several times along the way and yet continued to work perfectly.

The Story
continues...

Keep exploring

Share this page