劳力士与探险 封面

突破极限

第二章

腕表是必不可少的探险装备。

作为掌控时间的唯一设备,腕表对探险之旅至关重要,攸关生死。 对于想在极端条件下测试个人耐力极限的探险者而言,腕表是不可或缺的工具;尤其是在荒无人烟的幽僻之地,没有视觉参照点,难以分辨昼夜,这时一款精准可靠、清晰易读且坚固耐用的腕表显得尤为重要。面对恶劣环境,探险者必须经受住严峻考验,腕表亦是如此。

劳力士腕表伴随探险者勇往直前:探险家艾林・卡格(Erling Kagge)成功征服“三极”(Three Extremes),包括在零辅助的情况下独自一人穿越南极;登山家艾德・维思特斯(Ed Viesturs)未配备辅助氧气设备,成功登上全球14座海拔超过8,000米的高峰;探险家鲁那・珍德内斯(Rune Gjeldnes)成为首位独力穿越北冰洋的人士;克莉丝汀・贾宁(Christine Janin)医生成为首位凭一己之力抵达北极的女性,之后更登顶各大洲的最高峰。他们一往无前,突破人类耐力极限,开辟了探险新天地。

征服三极

艾林・卡格

挪威人艾林・卡格是经验丰富的极端环境挑战者。他是全球首位实现“三极”挑战的人:抵达南北两极并登上珠峰。他凭借坚韧毅力取得杰出成就。

没有雪橇犬,没有飞机空投物资,他们独力向前跋涉。晨间气温低至零下54摄氏度。“恶劣条件令人几乎感到无望,但我们坚信自己能实现目标。”艾林・卡格如此描述他的探险历程。他与另一位满怀热忱的探险家伯格・奥斯兰(Børge Ousland)同行,在无外界援助的情况下,于1990年3月成为最先滑雪抵达北极的人。他们充满信念,坚定勇敢,一心朝着目标前进,凭借自身力量抵达目的地。

两年后,卡格孤身一人前往南极。1992年至1993年,他在没有支援的情况下,成为独自抵达南极的第一人。 他孤身跋涉了1,300多公里,历时50余天。他与外界完全断绝联系,饥寒交迫,疲惫不堪,依旧竭力迈出每一步。1993年,他凭借此探险壮举登上《时代》杂志封面。

1994年,他踏上第三次探险之旅,再度在无外界支持的情况下成功登顶珠峰。这一巅峰成就令他成为史上首位实现“三极”挑战的人,三极指的是北极、南极和世界最高峰珠峰。

为完成这些重大探险,卡格不断突破个人极限。他坚信,始终保持乐观,不懈努力追求梦想,矢志克服重重障碍,定能不断超越自我。 

这位极地探险家成就不凡,他在严苛环境中展现出发掘自我的潜能、追求卓越的出色能力,令人深感钦佩。他凭借持之以恒与坚韧不拔的精神,在每次探险中攻克挑战。卡格不仅是征服“三极”的探险家,他更是一位秉持独到幸福观的哲学家,常说“挑战与困难是通往幸福的必经之路。”

艾林·卡格在南极

攀登时间管理

艾德・维思特斯

艾德・维思特斯在并未配备辅助氧气设备的情况下,登上全球所有海拔超过8,000米的高峰。 他佩戴劳力士腕表,谨记时间管理原则,成功登顶高峰。 

艾德・维思特斯是一位经验丰富的登山家兼劳力士代言人,他敏锐专注,坚毅果敢,在未配备辅助氧气设备的情况下,登上全球14座海拔超过8,000米(26,000英尺)的高峰。对维思特斯而言,腕表是至关重要的登山装备,影响着他的人身安全与最终成败。

“登山过程中,对时间的掌控攸关成败与生死,尝试登顶当天尤其如此,”他解释道,“每半小时的时间掌控都很重要。尝试进行登顶后,我必须清楚应在何时回到最高营地。我会根据这个时间计算整天的时间安排,包括需要在何时下山。如果当天更为严寒,而条件更有利,则应提早开始攀登,从而留出更多时间应对延误或任何意外情况。下山则带来第二重挑战。我给自己定了规则,无论是否成功登顶,最迟在下午2点前就要开始返程,趁着光线充足、精力充沛,留足时间安全下山。有些登山者之所以面临生命威胁,正是因为返程时间太晚。严寒、黑暗、疲惫和缺氧等问题会导致严重后果。”

每次登山时,维思特斯都会佩戴他在1994年收到的那只劳力士腕表,即配备白色表盘的探险家型 II。“这只腕表具备我所需的一切功能,从未令我失望:它搭载自动上链机芯,坚固可靠,抢眼的指针令表盘在黑暗中依然清晰易读。防刮耐用的水晶镜面亦非常实用,可抵御登山过程中遭遇的撞击。我得承认,这只腕表是我最重要的装备之一。登山时,我格外关注时间的掌控,这只腕表及其精准计时功能,对我的安全至关重要。”

感知极地时间

鲁那・珍德内斯

鲁那・珍德内斯是一位拥有多项首创记录的探险家。在极地,他会借助腕表规划日程,确保分秒不差。

身处冰雪皑皑的极地,极昼现象导致时间概念变得模糊。因此,腕表对探险家至关重要,帮助他们规划日程,并定时完成相应进度。 鲁那・珍德内斯参与了众多探险活动,他是首位独力成功以滑雪先后穿越格陵兰、北极冰洋和南极冰原的人士。在由劳力士赞助,命名为最长征途(The Longest March)的极地探险之旅中,他利用探险家型 II腕表规划并遵守重要日程。

“探险过程中,掌控时间关乎一切。在第一个月里,我们会数着过了多少天,之后重点就转移到如何实现目标上。因此,掌握时间并严格守时决定了一整天的规划:准时起床、打包行李,遵循最高效的行进规则,即滑雪50分钟,然后休息10分钟。当天行程结束时,我们必须清楚何时停下来安营扎寨并吃好晚餐,尽快完成这一切,才能保证充足的休息时间。在单人北极探险之旅的最后14天,我侧重于时间管理,并计算自己花了多长时间推进行程。这帮助我成功抵达目的地。遵守严谨的日程安排让人感到十分安心。”

为确保守时,他表示需要一只精准可靠的腕表。“在分秒必争的恶劣环境下,走时精准的腕表不可或缺,如果具备日历显示功能则更加实用,就像探险家型 II。在探险过程中,时间的界限变得模糊,能够分辨具体日期自然再好不过。”

鲁那・珍德内斯在北极

极端环境下的心理素质挑战

克莉丝汀・贾宁

只要经过合理训练,人体就能适应极端恶劣的气候条件。在环境严酷的荒凉地区,需要具备怎样的身心素质才能生存?探险家兼医生克莉丝汀・贾宁对此加以定义。 

“在海拔8,000米的高度,温度低至零下40乃至50摄氏度,人体只能保留约10%的体能,”劳力士2001年至2006年代言人、登山家、极地探险家兼医生克莉丝汀・贾宁表示。此外,无时无刻无处不在的危险令身心面临重重压力。“因此,无论是攀登高峰还是探索极地,都需要具备强健体魄、乐观心态,而且勇敢坚毅。” 成功抵达极限地带的人,无不具备出色的身体耐力及心理抗压能力。

“开启登山或探险之旅时,要确保自己处于完美状态,这便是成功的关键。为此,必须提前几年开始准备,接受全方位训练,从而积累充足经验,并锤炼体魄,才能从容应对挑战。”

无论是登山还是极地探险,威胁无处不在,凛冽严寒、呼啸狂风、无法就近得到支援……种种因素危及安全。登山过程中,缺氧可能会导致急性高原病,令人神志不清。有时,登山者会抱着“不惜一切代价也要登顶”的危险心态。然而,要确保个人安全,则必须严格自律,保持专注。“想在探险中生存下来,需要充满自信,了解自己的能力、极限与身体状态,并适时对风险进行透彻分析,该放弃时不执着,”贾宁补充道。 

在这种需要分秒必争、步步为营的严苛环境下,探险者必须努力保持身心平衡状态,方能实现目标,成就壮举。“我们不断调整呼吸,逐步登上顶峰。在此过程中,我们的潜能得到激发,助力我们成功登顶。当我们懂得如何应对威胁,并克服各种环境挑战,我们无比自豪。” 

克莉丝汀・贾宁探险

故事不断延续……

继续探索

分享此页面

Rolex and exploration cover

Defying the limits

Chapter two

Without a watch, an explorer cannot complete their challenge.

It is the sole item of equipment with which to manage time, a critical factor in accomplishing their journey; it is the key to their survival. For those who test the limits of their endurance in extreme conditions, it is an indispensable tool. Its resistance, precision and legibility must never fail, especially in situations of complete solitude, where there are no visual reference points, no clear distinction between day and night. The watch, like its wearer, must be able to stand up to the most inhospitable environments.

Rolex has accompanied explorer Erling Kagge in conquering the ‘three extremes’, including crossing Antarctica alone and unassisted; mountaineer Ed Viesturs, who climbed the world’s 14 peaks over 8,000 metres without supplemental oxygen; adventurer Rune Gjeldnes, the first person to cross the Arctic Ocean unsupported, and doctor Christine Janin, who was the first woman to reach the North Pole unaided and without the assistance of dogs, and then scaled the highest peak on every continent. In defying the limits, they opened new horizons by pushing back the frontiers of human resistance.

Conquering the Three Poles

Erling Kagge

Norwegian Erling Kagge is no stranger to extreme challenges. He achieved a triple feat in becoming the first person ever to reach the ‘three extremes’: the North Pole, the South Pole and the summit of Everest. An exceptional accomplishment, for which he drew on remarkable inner strength.

No dogs to pull the sleds. No planes to air-drop supplies. Nothing but their bodies to transport them. Morning temperatures of –54° C. “It was impossible. But if anyone could do it, we could.” This is how Erling Kagge described his journey in the company of Børge Ousland, another impassioned adventurer. In March 1990, the two men were the first to reach the North Pole on skis without any outside assistance. With their minds firmly focused on one goal: to get there under their own steam, using their courage, conviction and determination.

Two years later, this time in Antarctica, Kagge was alone. In 1992-1993, the explorer became the first to reach the South Pole, solo and unsupported. A journey of more than 1,300 km in over 50 days, without speaking to anyone. He had no contact with the outside world. Every step was a battle against the cold, hunger and fatigue. The exploit earned him a place on the front cover of TIME magazine in 1993.

The following year, the Norwegian embarked on a third venture: again unaided, he reached the top of Everest. With this crowning achievement he made history as the first person to reach the so-called ‘three extremes’, otherwise known as the ‘three poles challenge’: the two poles and the highest mountaintop.

To accomplish such feats, Kagge has constantly pushed himself beyond his own limits. The ability to surpass oneself, he believes, is based on unfailing optimism, an appetite for sustained effort, the relentless pursuit of one’s dreams, and the ability to not allow personal barriers to get in the way. 

Given what he has achieved, this adventurer of the extreme is a man who commands respect for demonstrating the ability of human beings to dig deep within themselves to excel at what they do, no matter the environment or conditions. On his expeditions, every victory has been won through constancy and perseverance. And Kagge is not only the winner of a triple sporting feat. He is also, first and foremost, a philosopher who advocates happiness and often says “we need challenges – and difficulties – to be happy”.

Erling Kagge in the South Pole

Time Management on the Mountain

Ed Viesturs

Ed Viesturs has climbed all summits above 8,000 metres without oxygen. His watch, along with a few essential time-management rules, helped him make it to the top. 

With razor-sharp focus and determination, Ed Viesturs, a seasoned mountaineer and Rolex Testimonee, achieved the feat of climbing the world’s 14 peaks over 8,000 metres (26,000 feet) without supplemental oxygen. For Viesturs, his wristwatch is a key part of his equipment as it directly impacts his safety and success.

“When climbing, time management is the most significant factor in my success, and ultimately my survival – particularly on the day of the summit ascent,” he explains. “Each half hour counts. It’s crucial to know at what time I need to be back at my highest camp after attempting the summit. From that I calculate timings for the entire day, including when I need to begin my descent. An early start is critical for climbing during the colder, safer conditions of the day, and allows for more time to deal with delays or anything unexpected. The descent is the second part of the challenge. I have a rule of turning around by 2 o’clock in the afternoon at the latest, whether or not I have reached the summit. Having time to get down safely with enough daylight and energy is paramount. Some climbers have found themselves in life-threatening situations because they turned back too late. The cold, darkness, fatigue and lack of oxygen can become serious issues.”

On each of his climbs, Viesturs wears an Explorer II with a white dial that he received in 1994. “It has never failed me and includes all the features I need for mountaineering: it’s self-winding, robust, and the hands are easy to read against the dial, even in the dark. A durable crystal is also an advantage as it may hit rock and ice on an ascent. I have to admit it’s probably the most important piece of equipment I have with me. I am a serious clock-watcher during my climbs. My watch – and the time it tells – is the key to my safety.” 

The Perception of Time at the Poles

Rune Gjeldnes

Rune Gjeldnes is an explorer with several firsts to his name. In polar regions, his watch sets the schedule, down to the very last minute.

In the vast white polar landscape, when the sun never sleeps, the notion of time becomes relative. A watch is therefore crucial for an explorer to be able to structure their days and make regular, coordinated progress. Among other adventures, Rune Gjeldnes was the first person to cross, one after the other, the entire length of Greenland, the Arctic Ocean and Antarctica – on an expedition entitled The Longest March and sponsored by Rolex – on skis, unaided. During his polar expeditions, his Explorer II enables him to follow a crucially important routine.

“Time on expeditions is everything and nothing. During the first month, we count the days. After that, we concentrate on the goal as opposed to what day it is. That said, time and punctuality dictate how the entire day is organized: getting up on time, packing up on time, and following the most effective trekking routine, which is 50 minutes skiing and 10 minutes rest. And, at the end of the day, we need to know what time to stop, set up camp and eat – all done as quickly as possible to ensure we get enough rest. During the final 14 days of my solo expedition to the North Pole, I focused my attention on time management and calculating how long I had spent pushing forward on my journey. That was what led me to success. It’s a real relief to keep to a carefully scheduled routine.”

To keep time on his side, he says he needs an excellent, trustworthy watch. “Each minute counts in hostile environments – a precise watch is indispensable. It’s also useful if it displays the date, like the Explorer II. Even though we tend to lose the notion of a calendar on an expedition, it’s always nice to know whether it’s the 20th, say, as opposed to the 23rd.” 

Rune Gjeldnes in the North Pole

Physical and Mental Limits in Extreme Environments

Christine Janin

The human body is capable of adapting to even the worst weather conditions as long as it has been trained correctly. Explorer and doctor Christine Janin defines the physical and mental attributes required to survive in the world’s most inhospitable regions. 

“At an altitude of 8,000 metres, at –40° C,or even –50° C, we retain only around 10 per cent of our physical capabilities,” explains mountaineer, polar explorer and doctor Christine Janin, who was a Rolex Testimonee from 2001 to 2006. In addition, the constant danger gives rise to a mixture of physical and psychological stress. “High-altitude mountaineering and polar exploring therefore require a person to be in perfect shape, as well as optimistic, brave and determined.” People who manage to reach the Earth’s geographical extremes are part of a distinct group in terms of physical endurance and exceptional mental resilience.

“The key to a successful climb or expedition is to be in excellent shape when you set off. For that, you must have trained very thoroughly, and have begun preparing several years earlier in order to gain sufficient experience and adapt the body to the conditions you are going to face.”

Danger is everywhere. Extreme cold, violent winds and the lack of nearby rescue teams are risks both on mountains and in polar regions. When climbing, the lack of oxygen in the air can cause acute altitude sickness and affect a person’s state of mind. Sometimes, they become perilously fixated on reaching the summit at all costs. The only means of keeping oneself safe is to be disciplined and very focused. “Staying alive ultimately comes down to self-confidence, knowing your abilities and your limits, your physical state and being able, at any point, to give up on your adventure thanks to a crystal-clear risk analysis of the situation,” adds Janin. 

In these environments, where each move has to be calculated and time carefully monitored, explorers constantly strive to maintain a balance, both mentally and physically. This extraordinary effort is in order to achieve one aim: to excel. “Summits are conquered metre by metre, breath by breath. On the way, we discover qualities we didn’t know we had that enable us to get to the top. We then feel immense joy in realizing that we know how to face up to dangers and overcome challenges posed by the environment.” 

Christine Janin exploration

The Story
continues...

Keep exploring

Share this page