請更新瀏覽器版本

歡迎瀏覽rolex.com。為確保最佳的瀏覽體驗,我們建議您使用最新版本瀏覽器。

掃描QR code以連接勞力士Wechat專頁。

維積 ∙ 阿姆列查

一枚勞力士,一個故事

維積 ∙ 阿姆列查(Vijay Amritraj)成功克服生命中的挑戰。生於印度的阿姆列查自小患有嚴重肺病,令他童年大部分時間均在醫院中渡過。當醫生建議他參與戶外運動以強健體魄時,他選擇了網球運動。此運動不僅讓他恢復健康,更成就他成為印度首位職業運動員。1976年,年僅23歲的他於紐波特名人堂錦標賽(Newport Hall of Fame Tournament)勝出,並獲頒授一枚勞力士腕錶。此腕錶也見證了他在人生面對挑戰與於逆境時堅持不懈的精神。他時刻佩戴腕錶,四十年來它依然是其最喜愛的珍藏。

勞力士與維積 ∙ 阿姆列查 - 一枚勞力士,一個故事
探索維積 ∙ 阿姆列查與勞力士的故事。作為印度首位職業網球手的勞力士代言人,他講述其事業發展與他的勞力士腕錶。

「我與網球運動密不可分,它給予我許多未曾想過能擁有的東西,而最重要的是讓我健康生活。」

每當我握着網球拍時便感到充滿自信。網球一直是我人生的支柱,並讓我的人生變得不平凡,我與網球運動密不可分,它給予我許多未曾想過能擁有的東西,而最重要的是讓我健康生活。小時候的我體弱多病,經常出入醫院。醫生提議我的父母讓我參與戶外運動以強健體魄。

在印度這個超過十億人口的國家,民眾難以理解為何要花費得來不易的金錢讓一個體弱的孩子進行專業網球訓練。然而,網球為我的人生帶來改變。在印度體壇上,我不僅是首批印度職業網球手,更稱得上是職業運動員的先驅。事實上,網球對我來說是最好的教育途徑,我對世事的領悟從中而來,亦令我了解自己有能力取得成就。網球給予我許多未曾想過能擁有的東西,比如我的勞力士腕錶,更讓我領悟到沒有不可能達成的目標。

「網球給予我許多未曾想過能擁有的東西,比如我的勞力士腕錶。」

1976年,我在美國於紐波特名人堂錦標賽勝出,想不到獲勝的獎勵除獎金外還有一枚勞力士腕錶。從此我便時刻佩戴着它,並伴隨我經歷人生的高低起跌,四十年來它依然是我最喜愛的收藏。在印度,只有自覺有成就的人才會佩戴這種腕錶。我在23歲時獲得此腕錶,當時我認為那年紀尚未足以配得起擁有它。我並非自覺成就已配得上它,而我佩戴這枚腕錶的原因,只在於它是我憑實力所贏得的,因此令我感到非常自豪。

一生中有數件事令我感到非常榮幸,包括獲當時的聯合國秘書長安南(Kofi Annan)任命為「和平大使」,其時同獲任命的包括「拳王」穆罕默德・阿里(Mohammed Ali)、演員米高・德格拉斯 (Michael Douglas)、諾貝爾獎得主埃利・維瑟爾(Elie Wiesel)以及歌劇演唱家盧奇亞諾・巴伐洛堤(Luciano Pavarotti)。只需要腳踏實地、下定決心並全力以赴,你便能看到自己所帶來的改變。我曾於奧運會代表印度,並傳送奧運火炬,這是印度政府對我的一大嘉許。這一切都令我希望能做得更多,繼而對世界有更深入的了解。這亦驅使我創立自己的基金,以支持印度的慈善組織。

「從此我便時刻佩戴着它,並伴隨我經歷人生的高低起跌,四十年來它依然是我最喜愛的收藏。」

我比很多人幸運,成長時體弱多病,但現在卻能佩戴着這枚憑個人實力嬴取、讓我深感自豪的勞力士腕錶。直到今天,我會問自己:「你能成就多少?你能否每晚都能對自己說:『我沒有浪費今天。我已竭力在各方面讓自己做得更好。』」每當我看着這枚腕錶,總會想:「希望我值得擁有它。」

探索他們的故事

#EveryRolexTellsAStory

Browser update required

Welcome to rolex.com. In order to provide you with the best possible experience, rolex.com requires an up-to-date browser. Please use a newer browser to explore our site.

New and genuine Rolex watches are exclusively sold by official Rolex retailers

With the necessary skills and know-how, they warrant the authenticity of your Rolex and ensure that your Rolex enjoys a five-year guarantee.

Follow Rolex on WeChat by scanning the QR code.

Vijay Amritraj

Every Rolex Tells a Story

Vijay Amritraj has defied the odds all his life. He grew up in India with a serious lung disease and spent a large portion of his childhood in hospital. When the doctors advised him to play an outdoor sport in the hope that it would improve his health, he chose tennis. The sport not only cured his illness, it propelled him to the height of success as India’s first professional sportsman. In 1976, at the age of 23, he won the Newport Hall of Fame Tournament and received a Rolex. This watch came to stand for the challenges he had faced in his life and his perseverance in defeating adversity. It has never left his wrist in 40 years and to this day it is still his favorite possession.

Rolex and Vijay Amritraj - Every Rolex Tells a Story
Discover Vijay Amritraj's story with Rolex. As India's 1st professional tennis player and a Rolex ambassador, he talks about his career and his Rolex watch.

"The tennis racket and I go hand in hand. It’s given me things that I would never have dreamt of having. But, more than anything else, it gave me my health."

Holding a tennis racket gives me the utmost confidence. It’s been the perfect prop my entire life and it’s given me more than just a normal life. The tennis racket and I go hand in hand. It’s given me things that I would never have dreamt of having. But, more than anything else, it gave me my health. I was very sick as a child and I spent a lot of time in the hospital. Eventually, the doctors advised my parents that I should play an outdoor sport in the hope that the physical activity would help me return to good health.

In India, a country with over a billion people, spending hard-earned money on professional tennis training for a sick child was something most people had no understanding for. But tennis turned things around for me and then I became not only one of the first professional tennis players from India, but actually one of the first ever professionals from India in any sport. I think tennis was my greatest education. It taught me about not just the world, but about myself and what one is able to achieve. Tennis gave me more than I could have ever asked for and my Rolex stands for exactly that. It makes you think of the impossible as nothing.

"Tennis gave me more than I could have ever asked for and my Rolex stands for exactly that."

In 1976 I won the Newport Hall of Fame Tournament in the US and I couldn’t believe I was given this watch along with the prize money. From that moment on, it never came off my wrist. It has stayed with me through thick and thin and 40 years later it is still my favourite possession. In India, you only wear a watch like this if you feel you’ve achieved something. When I got it at 23 years of age, I didn’t think I was old enough to have earned it. I didn’t think I was good enough to have it and the only reason I started to wear it was because I won it and I was so proud of it.

I’ve also been very fortunate in my life to have done several things, one of the highlights of it being appointed Messenger of Peace by Secretary-General of the United Nations Kofi Annan, alongside legendary boxer Mohammed Ali, Michael Douglas, the actor, Elie Wiesel, the Nobel Laureate, and opera singer Luciano Pavarotti. I was able to see on the ground what difference you can make if you actually set your mind to it. I represented India in the Olympic Games, I carried the Olympic torch, and it was an accolade by the government of India. I think all of these things kind of spur you to do even more, to be able to see what the real world is all about. I think this is exactly why we also started my foundation to be able to help charities in India.

"It never came off my wrist. It has stayed with me through thick and thin and 40 years later it is still my favourite possession."

For someone that grew up with bad health, it is a blessing to be wearing something that I won, that I can be proud of for the rest of my life. To this day I ask myself, “How good can you be? Can you come back every night and say to yourself, ‘I didn’t waste this day. I tried very hard to be a better person — whatever that might be?’” So when I look at the watch, I always think, "I hope I deserved it."

Discover their stories

#EveryRolexTellsAStory