請更新瀏覽器版本

歡迎瀏覽rolex.com。為確保最佳的瀏覽體驗,我們建議您使用最新版本瀏覽器。

掃描QR code以連接勞力士Wechat專頁。

保羅・格逸

一枚勞力士,一個故事

美國帆船運動員保羅・格逸(Paul Cayard)是最受推崇且最成功的職業船員之一。他曾七度贏得世界錦標賽冠軍殊榮,兩度參加奧運會,七度出賽美洲盃(America’s Cup)。過往四十年,格逸在海上航行數十萬哩,曾面對大自然的眾多險要境況。建立互助情誼對應付海上的艱鉅挑戰至為重要,而其勞力士腕錶便讓他想起那些難忘時刻。

Every Rolex Tells a Story — Paul Cayard

「我認為早年吸引我揚帆出海的原因,是當中的自主自由。我確實是這艘木船的船長,但是一般而言,沒有八歲小孩能夠成為船長!」

八歲時,父親在三藩市的車庫為我建造了第一艘小木船。家族中沒有人有出海的經驗,但我於七歲時經由同學介紹,開始認識帆船運動,父親也明白我對這項運動的熱愛。我認為早年吸引我揚帆出海的原因,是當中的自主自由。我確實是這艘木船的船長,但是一般而言,沒有八歲小孩能夠成為船長!自此,我對帆船運動的熱愛便從不間斷。

科學驅使人類單靠風力航遍全球,我認為這點非常令人驚嘆。如果我希望從三藩市前往泰國、也門或埃及亞歷山大港,即可以隨時起行。但是有時候,大自然可能危機四伏,你必須安排有序,準備面對大自然的怒火。

保羅・格逸的勞力士腕錶

準備充裕的情況大概佔90%,然而,不論你的經驗何等豐富,你總有機會遇上從未見過的風浪。這可能是大自然最引人入勝,同時又最險象環生的一面。有時候,你會身處地球最偏僻遙遠的角落,一旦情況有異,你只能依賴船上的其他九位船員,因此你必須將生命托付给他們。這種海上情誼就好像兄弟間的照應,深信大家能夠互相幫助。

「不論你的經驗何等豐富,你總有機會遇上從未見過的風浪。這可能是大自然最引人入勝,同時又最險象環生的一面。」

這枚腕錶由摩洛威尼斯號(Moro di Venezia)的船主魯爾・加迪尼(Raul Gardini)所贈。1988年,船隊在我成長的三藩市海灣勝出超級帆船世界錦標賽(Maxi World Championship)後,勞力士便頒授腕錶予優勝帆船的船主。然而,魯爾卻慷慨地購入了25枚漂亮的Submariner腕錶,鐫刻著「1988 Maxi World Champion, Il Moro di Venezia」(1988年超級帆船世界錦標賽,摩洛威尼斯號),並送給每一位船員。這是對優秀表現的莫大肯定,就我而言,此腕錶象徵著職業生涯中最重要的時期。我們及後勝出美洲盃的挑戰賽系列(Challenger Series),躋身美洲盃決賽,參與世界各地的賽事。整段經歷中,腕錶一直相伴在旁。

我佩戴Submariner腕錶,在切爾沃港的超級帆船世界錦標賽取得亞軍,也於1991年在日本贏得50呎組別的世界錦標賽。我曾在英國懷特島的考斯港、德國特拉弗明德、美國基韋斯特等地作賽。這枚腕錶於1997年與我一同環遊世界。

「這枚勞力士對我的意義重大,不只因為它見證的眾多賽事,更是因為將腕錶送贈予我的人。」

這枚勞力士對我的意義重大,不只因為它見證的眾多賽事,更是因為將腕錶送贈予我的人。魯爾・加迪尼不僅是帆船船主,他對我的事業影響深遠,對我的人生尤甚。他是我的導師、我的第二位父親。

女兒尤其鍾愛此腕錶,所以當她18歲時,我便讓她佩戴腕錶數年。腕錶陪伴她度過高中畢業,當我看到她佩戴著勞力士腕錶走上講台,便決定於子女21歲生日時,為他們送上勞力士腕錶。子女皆是熱衷的船員,我非常樂意教授他們相關知識。兒子獲得Yacht-Master,而女兒則獲贈Submariner,跟這枚一樣。

Browser update required

Welcome to rolex.com. In order to provide you with the best possible experience, rolex.com requires an up-to-date browser. Please use a newer browser to explore our site.

Follow Rolex on WeChat by scanning the QR code.

Paul Cayard

Every Rolex Tells a Story

American yachtsman Paul Cayard is one of the most recognized and accomplished professional sailors. He has won seven world championships, twice participated in the Olympic Games and seven times in the America’s Cup. With hundreds of thousands of miles at sea over the past 40 years, Cayard has faced the most dangerous aspects of Mother Nature. Camaraderie at sea is essential in tackling the most challenging times and his Rolex reminds him of those unforgettable adventures.

Every Rolex Tells a Story - Paul Cayard

“I think what attracted me to sailing in those early days was the freedom and the autonomy. I truly was the captain of my own ship. And at eight years old, you’re not normally the captain of any ship!”

When I was eight years old, my father built me my first little wooden boat in our garage here in San Francisco. No one in my family sailed, but I’d been introduced to the sport through a schoolmate when I was seven, and my father could see how much I liked it. I think what attracted me to sailing in those early days was the freedom and the autonomy. I truly was the captain of my own ship. And at eight years old, you’re not normally the captain of any ship! Since then my passion for sailing has never left me.

I think it’s an amazing fact of science that man figured out how to navigate all the way around the world solely from wind forces. If I want to go from San Francisco Bay to Thailand, Yemen or Alexandria in Egypt, I can get there. But at times, Mother Nature can be quite vicious and you really have to be organized and ready in order to manage yourself in face of Mother Nature when she’s at her angriest.

Paul Cayard's Rolex watch

I think 90 per cent of it you can prepare for, but, no matter how experienced you are, it’s always possible to encounter something that you’ve never seen before. That’s maybe the most fascinating, and at the same time, the most dangerous part of Mother Nature. Sometimes you’re in the most isolated and remote place on Earth and, if anything goes wrong, you’ve only got the nine other people on the boat to help you − you are trusting them with your life. Camaraderie at sea means really having your brother’s back and knowing that he has yours.

“No matter how experienced you are, it’s always possible to encounter something that you’ve never seen before. That’s maybe the most fascinating, and at the same time, the most dangerous part of Mother Nature.”

This watch was given to me by Raul Gardini, the owner of Moro di Venezia. When we won the Maxi World Championship in 1988, right here in the San Francisco Bay where I grew up, Rolex gave a watch to the owner of the winning boat. But Raul generously ordered 25 beautiful Submariners, each engraved with “1988 Maxi World Champion, Il Moro di Venezia”, and gifted one to every crew member. It was the ultimate recognition of a job well done and to me this watch stands for the most important period of time in my career: we went on to win the Challenger Series of the America’s Cup before going on to the America’s Cup finals, and ultimately to around the world racing. Through the entire adventure, this watch has been with me.

I’ve raced with this Submariner in Porto Cervo when we came in second at the Maxi Worlds, I’ve raced in Japan when we won the World Championship of the 50-foot class in 1991. I’ve raced in Cowes on the Isle of Wight in England, I’ve raced in Travemünde, Germany, and I’ve raced in Key West, in the United States. This watch has even been around the world with me in 1997.

“This Rolex means so much to me not only because of the races that it’s witnessed but also because of the man who gave it to me.”

This Rolex means so much to me not only because of the races that it’s witnessed but also because of the man who gave it to me. Raul Gardini was more than just the owner of the boat − he had a huge influence on my career, and perhaps an even bigger influence on my life. He was my mentor; a second father to me.

This particular watch was heavily admired by my daughter when she was 18 years-old, so I lent it to her for a few years. She wore it to her high school graduation, and seeing her walk across the stage with the Rolex on her wrist actually inspired me to give each of my children a Rolex on their 21st birthdays. My children are avid sailors themselves, something I’ve had the pleasure of teaching them; my son received a Yacht-Master, and I gave my daughter her own Submariner − just like this one.