請更新瀏覽器版本

歡迎瀏覽rolex.com。為確保最佳的瀏覽體驗,我們建議您使用最新版本瀏覽器。

掃描QR code以連接勞力士Wechat專頁。

占士 ∙ 金馬倫

一枚勞力士,一個故事

占士 ∙ 金馬倫(James Cameron)堪為電影製作的頂尖人物,其電影作品《鐵達尼號》(Titanic)共獲得11項奧斯卡金像獎殊榮,位踞歷來贏得最多獎項的電影之一;而電影《阿凡達》(Avatar)則打破全球最高電影票房紀錄。不論電影製作或探險旅程,金馬倫均謹慎規劃其工作項目,並只會接受可讓他超越個人極限的挑戰。對他而言,其勞力士腕錶象徵對未知事物的不懈探索。20年來,腕錶伴隨他經歷無數歷險,而現時則獲送予居於亞馬遜深處的新主人。

勞力士與占士 ∙ 金馬倫 - 一枚勞力士,一個故事
探索占士・金馬倫與勞力士的故事。對這位電影製作人兼探險家而言,其勞力士腕錶象徵對未知事物的不懈探索。

「你的作品無需取悅評論家、觀眾,甚或工作室的團隊,然而必須讓自己感到滿意。」

我兒時沉迷科學,喜愛扮演博物學者出外蒐集昆蟲、蛇、蝴蝶及各式標本。我的首個志願是當探險家,而非電影製作人。我後來才發現自己喜愛電影製作。

年幼時,我會觀看一些能啟發無窮想像的電影,引領我投入故事中的世界。當我決定要成為電影製作人時,我希望為他們帶來我兒時觀看電影時的非凡體驗。

1995年,我基於19歲入讀大學時的一些靈感,撰寫了《阿凡達》(Avatar)的電影綱要,所以整個意念於20多年前便已形成。後來我再花上10年,才真正着手製作此電影。

「我想我究竟應該以何物回贈他呢?必然是一些對我非常重要,而且與他的禮品有着同等意義之物。於是我便將我的勞力士Submariner腕錶送贈給他。」

當製作《阿凡達》時,我蒐集了許多有關土著文化的資料,並發現土著部落至今仍面對不少困難,如族民游離失所,文化日漸衰落。《阿凡達》的空前成功讓我意識到自己責任重大,必須親身投入為土著權益出一分力。

我跟羅勃尼(Ropni)酋長結為朋友,其部落卡亞波(Kayapo)位於亞馬遜深處。他贈予我不少富重大意義的厚禮,並藉獨特的命名儀式,讓我加入卡亞波部落。在他們的交化角度而言,這些物品均非常貴重。因此我便想:「我究竟應該以何物回贈他呢?必然是一些對我非常重要,而且與他的禮品有着同等意義之物。」於是我便將我的勞力士Submariner腕錶送贈給他。

占士・金馬倫的勞力士Submariner腕錶

自20年前選購那枚腕錶,它便與我形影不離。即使是製作《未來戰士續集》(Terminator 2)時,此起彼落的爆破場面、坐在電單車的邊車飛越貨車、在距離18輪貨車車輪僅兩呎處徒手拿着相機等驚險場面,腕錶均伴隨左右。當我透過潛水器的窗洞首次親見鐵達尼號(Titanic)的船骸,以及身穿宴會禮服,憑《鐵達尼號》獲頒授奧斯卡最佳導演獎,我始終佩戴該枚腕錶。

「朋友家人聚散分離,但腕錶卻時刻相伴。」

我今天佩戴的時計與以往那枚贈予羅勃尼的腕錶同款。當我望着它,我便回想起過往那枚Submariner腕錶與我經歷過的事物及所到之處,從海洋深處、與子女耍樂,以至書寫故事的點滴時刻,它均伴隨在側。朋友家人聚散分離,但腕錶卻時刻相伴。

此腕錶的故事才剛展開。

占士 ∙ 金馬倫


為電影藝術喝采

勞力士代言人占士・金馬倫(James Cameron)高瞻遠矚,並於多部作品採用創新技術,堪為電影製作的頂尖人物。其電影作品《鐵達尼號》(Titanic)共獲得11項奧斯卡金像獎殊榮,位踞歷來贏得最多獎項的電影之一;而電影《阿凡達》(Avatar)則打破全球最高電影票房紀錄。

勞力士與占士 ∙ 金馬倫 - 一枚勞力士,一個故事
探索占士・金馬倫與勞力士的故事。對這位電影製作人兼探險家而言,其勞力士腕錶象徵對未知事物的不懈探索。

探索他們的故事

#EveryRolexTellsAStory

Browser update required

Welcome to rolex.com. In order to provide you with the best possible experience, rolex.com requires an up-to-date browser. Please use a newer browser to explore our site.

Follow Rolex on WeChat by scanning the QR code.

James Cameron

Every Rolex Tells a Story

James Cameron represents the pinnacle of film-making. His film Titanic won 11 Oscars, tying for the most awards ever, and Avatar holds the record as the highest-grossing film in history. Cameron selects his projects carefully, accepting the challenge only when he knows he can push the limits of what is possible. This counts not only for his work as a film-maker but also as an explorer. For Cameron, his Rolex has always been a symbol of the enduring quest to discover the unknown; after accompanying him on countless expeditions over the last 20 years, it has now found its new home deep in the Amazon.

Rolex and James Cameron - Every Rolex Tells a Story
Discover James Cameron's story with Rolex. For the film-maker and explorer, his Rolex has always been a symbol of the enduring quest to discover the unknown.

“The only person you ultimately need to satisfy is not the critics and not the audience and not the studio — it’s yourself.”

I was a complete science nerd as a kid, both in the sense of being a naturalist and going out and collecting bugs, snakes, butterflies and samples. My first dream was to be an explorer, not to be a film-maker. The film-making came along after.

As a kid I would go to movies that would blow my mind, that would take me to another world. When I decided to be a film-maker, I wanted to give other people that feeling that I had as a kid in those movie theaters.

I wrote Avatar in 1995 based on ideas that I had when I was in college at the age of 19, so that would have been 20 years earlier or more. And then it took another 10 years before we actually made the movie.

“I thought, what do I have that I can give him that’s like that, something that’s very personal to me, and has a value to me that’s equivalent to what his gifts to me meant to him. So I gave him my Rolex Submariner.”

When I made Avatar, I did a lot of research on indigenous cultures and I found out that these struggles are still going on. People are still being displaced, their cultures are being destroyed. I realized that the success of Avatar created a big responsibility for me, I felt I needed to get involved and essentially become an activist on behalf of Indigenous rights.

I had become friends with Ropni, the chief of the Kayapo people, deep in the Amazon. He gave me some great gifts, things that had great meaning to him including making me one of the Kayapo people with a naming ceremony. In their culture, these are treasured things. And I thought, “What do I have that I can give him that’s like that, something that’s very personal to me, and has a value to me that’s equivalent to what his gifts to me meant to him.” So I gave him my Rolex Submariner.

James Cameron's Rolex Submariner watch

I had bought that watch 20 years ago and it was with me every day: it was on my wrist when I was making Terminator 2, blowing things up and flipping over trucks riding on a motorcycle sidecar, hand holding a camera two feet from the turning wheels of an 18-wheeler truck. I was wearing it the first time I saw the Titanic for real through the porthole of a submersible, and I was wearing the same watch in my black tie when I went up on the stage to get the Oscar for directing Titanic.

“It’s the one constant companion. People come and go — the watch is always there.”

The watch I am wearing today I bought as a replacement for the one that I gave to Ropni. When I look at it, I think of all the things my previous Submariner had been through. I see all the places it’s been, from the bottom of the ocean to playing with my kids to sitting writing a story. It’s the one constant companion. People come and go — the watch is always there.

This watch is just getting started.

James Cameron

Celebrating Cinema

Rolex Testimonee James Cameron represents the pinnacle of film-making, with a boldness of vision and focus on technical innovation dominant throughout his many movies. Titanic, which won 11 Oscars, is tied for the most awards ever, and Avatar holds the record as the highest-grossing film in history.

Rolex and James Cameron - Every Rolex Tells a Story
Discover James Cameron's story with Rolex. For the film-maker and explorer, his Rolex has always been a symbol of the enduring quest to discover the unknown.

Discover their stories

#EveryRolexTellsAStory