請更新瀏覽器版本

歡迎瀏覽rolex.com。為確保最佳的瀏覽體驗,我們建議您使用最新版本瀏覽器。

掃描QR code以連接勞力士Wechat專頁。

艾德・維思特斯

一枚勞力士,一個故事

艾德・維思特斯(Ed Viesturs)是史上少數不使用補氧裝備,登上全球所有十四座8,000米(26,000呎)高峰的登山家及唯一一位美國人。2005年,維思特斯攀上第14座山峰安娜普娜峰(Annapurna),成功征服這座全球最險要的山岳,獲頒授國家地理學會年度探險家獎(Adventurer of the Year)。總括而言,維思特斯佩戴Oyster Perpetual Explorer II,共21次登上超過8,000米的聳山峻嶺,其中更7度踏足珠穆朗瑪峰。

Every Rolex Tells a Story – Ed Viesturs

「人生其中一件最愉快的事,莫過於達成目標,當你攀上巔峰,便會明白之前的準備工夫並沒有枉費。」

人生其中一件最愉快的事,莫過於達成目標,當你攀上巔峰,便會明白之前的準備工夫並沒有枉費。這種成就感令人欲罷不能,因為它使你感到興奮,吸引你再次投入這種感覺。我已7度登上珠穆朗瑪峰,每次的感受亦不盡相同。你會希望永遠停留在此,卻沒法做到。

起初,我只視登山為興趣,而非職業。後來我登上首三座8,000米高峰──珠穆朗瑪峰、喬戈里峰(K2)及干城章嘉峰(Kangchenjunga)──發現自己已經攀登了地球上最高的三座山峰,便想何不征服全部14座:「我已完成三座,只剩下11座。」我下定決心,並將計劃名為「力登8000」(Endeavor 8000)。

「力登」計劃花了18年時間完成,我返回安娜普娜的山腳──登山旅程往往在山腳結束,而非山頂──為自己的成就感到自豪,因為這是我的個人之旅,沒有人要求我這樣做,是我自己決定踏上的征途。這些登山經歷讓我明白,即使事件彷彿沒有可能達成,只要心懷耐性及熱情,總可以完成心中所想。我深信,如果你可以回首並說:「我已達成心願。」那你的一生便不枉過。

艾德・維思特斯的勞力士腕錶

準確報時非常重要。探險家的腕錶必須堪當信賴,不易受損、防水、抗震且方便使用。登山規劃是旅程的一部分,但我認為最重要的是下山計劃。知道必須到達山腳的時間,便清楚回程的時間,這經常是午夜時分;若果我仍未處於山峰,我便會按照定下的規則返回,我對此非常嚴謹。

『我深信,如果你可以回首並說:「我已達成心願。」那你的一生便不枉過。』

我擁有一枚Rolex Explorer II腕錶,這是我於1994年完成三座8,000米高峰所獲贈的,我當時仍未想及攀上全部14座山峰。我自此每天佩戴Explorer II腕錶,所有的登山旅程亦然,迄今仍然伴隨在旁。當我攀上清單中最後一座高峰,也就是安娜普娜峰,正是下午2時,我清晰記得那一刻,因為我於完美時刻登上山峰,而腕錶亦在我的左右。

「我自此每天佩戴Explorer II腕錶,所有的登山旅程亦然,迄今仍然伴隨在旁。」

此腕錶象徵著我與它一同展開的旅程。每年,你也會因為創新、更輕、更佳等因素,選購各種新器材。然而,你將無需更換腕錶,因為它的外觀經典,功能可靠,我永不需要替代它。事實上,腕錶可能是我眾多登山旅程中最重要的器材。

「每年,你也會因為創新、更輕、更佳等因素,選購各種新器材。然而,你將無需更換腕錶。」

在多方面而言,Explorer II腕錶助我達成目標,亦讓我保持安全,因為我在山上會基於時間下決定,若然沒有準確時間,沒有腕錶,我或不可能生存至今。

Browser update required

Welcome to rolex.com. In order to provide you with the best possible experience, rolex.com requires an up-to-date browser. Please use a newer browser to explore our site.

Follow Rolex on WeChat by scanning the QR code.

Ed Viesturs

Every Rolex Tells a Story

Ed Viesturs is one of only a handful of climbers in history, and the only American, to reach the summits of all of the world’s fourteen 8,000-metre (26,000 feet) peaks without supplemental oxygen. In 2005, with his ascent of the 14th summit – Annapurna − one of the world’s most treacherous peaks, Viesturs was awarded National Geographic’s Adventurer of the Year. In all, Viesturs, equipped with an Oyster Perpetual Explorer II, has made 21 ascents of mountains that are more than 8,000 metres high, including Mount Everest seven times.

Every Rolex Tells a Story – Ed Viesturs

“One of the greatest joys is when you achieve your goal, when you reach the top and you know then that all those things that you did to prepare paid off.”

One of the greatest joys is when you achieve your goal, when you reach the top and you know then that all those things that you did to prepare paid off. It’s very addictive because you’ve had that great feeling and you want to feel it again. I’ve climbed to the summit of Everest seven times and each time was unique. It’s a place you want to stay forever, but you can’t.

Initially I thought climbing would be a hobby, not a profession, and after having climbed my first three ‘eight-thousanders’ − Everest, K2 and Kangchenjunga − I had somehow climbed all of the three highest peaks on earth. I thought why not attempt to do all 14, “I’ve done three, there’s only 11 left.” I made the decision and called it Endeavor 8000.

When I completed my Endeavor project, which took 18 years, I came down to the bottom of Annapurna − that’s when the climb is actually over, not on the summit but at the bottom − I was so proud of what I had done because it was a personal journey, nobody told me to do it, it’s something that I wanted to do. All these climbs have taught me that anything that is seemingly impossible or unachievable, if you have the patience and the passion, you can achieve almost anything you set your mind to doing. I can truly say that if you can look back and say, “I lived my dream,” that’s a life well lived.

Ed Viesturs’ Rolex watch

Timekeeping is critical. For an explorer the watch that you have has to be reliable. It has to be rather indestructible, waterproof, shockproof and easy to use. The planning of the ascent is part of the climb, but the most important for me is the planning of coming down. By knowing what time I need to be back, I know what time I need to leave, and that for me was always midnight; and if I’m not on the summit by then, the rule was that I had to turn around. I was very, very critical about that.

“I can truly say that if you can look back and say, “I lived my dream,” that’s a life well lived.”

I have a Rolex Explorer II that I received in 1994 when I had climbed three of the 8,000-metre peaks, and I was just then starting to come up with the idea that I wanted to climb all 14. I wore my Explorer II every single day since that moment, on all my climbs, and I still wear it today. When I reached the summit of Annapurna, my last mountain on the list, I was on the summit at exactly 2.00 pm − a moment that I remember specifically − I reached the summit at my perfect time and the watch was with me.

“I wore my Explorer II every single day since that moment, on all my climbs, and I still wear it today.”

This watch is a reminder of the journey that I went on and it went with me. Every year you get new equipment because it’s innovative, or it’s lighter, or it’s better − this is the one item of equipment that never changed because it is timeless, in the look, in the function, and I never needed to replace it. It’s probably the most important piece of equipment that I had with me on all these climbs.

“Every year you get new equipment because it’s innovative, or it’s lighter, or it’s better − this is the one item of equipment that never changed.”

In many ways, my Explorer II helped me to achieve my goals and also to keep me alive because I based most of my decisions in the mountains on time, and without the time, without the watch, I wouldn’t perhaps be sitting here today.