请更新浏览器版本

欢迎浏览rolex.com。为确保最佳的浏览体验,我们建议您使用最新版本浏览器。

扫描QR code以连接劳力士微信专页。

唐・沃尔什

一只劳力士,一个故事

1960年,美国海军上尉唐・沃尔什(Don Walsh)与瑞士海洋学家雅克・皮卡德(Jacques Piccard)乘坐深海潜艇的里雅斯特号(Trieste),潜入太平洋马里亚纳海沟(Mariana Trench),抵达海洋的最深处。的里雅斯特号的外部固定一只实验型劳力士蚝式腕表Deep Sea Special,现获称为“老佛爷”(The Old Lady)。这次旅程不仅打破深潜纪录,更为深海探索奠定基础里程碑。某程度而言,沃尔什的成就影响此后所有的劳力士腕表。

劳力士与唐・沃尔什 - 一只劳力士,一个故事
探索唐・沃尔什与劳力士的故事。这位海洋学家、探险家兼劳力士代言人,谈及佩戴其劳力士潜航者型腕表的意义。

“经常有青年人问我:‘如何才能成为一位探险家呢?’我便会回答:‘其实非常简单,你天生便已是一位探险家。’”

我喜欢青年听众,他们经常问我:“如何才能成为一位探险家呢?”我便会回答:“其实非常简单,你天生便已是一位探险家。你不用攀上最高峰或潜入海洋最深处,你只需一颗对四周事物充满好奇的心。”

从小以来,航海员一直是我梦寐以求的职业。1930年代末,我们居住的房屋可以眺望旧金山湾的景色。我能看到船艇驶离金门大桥,逐渐消失于地平线,因此我便心想:“究竟海洋以外有什么呢?要怎样才能看到,甚至亲身做到呢?”我认为自己非常幸运,因为我看过、做过,直到现在仍探索海洋各界。我曾到过北极,亦曾潜至海洋最深处,65年来海洋的未知事物始终让我乐此不疲。

水底世界最令我向往之处,便是仿如探索新星球的体验。下潜100米,水底顿时变得漆黑,就像一个全新的世界,当中的生物安居其中,而我则是一位外来者。

唐・沃尔什的劳力士腕表

我得知技术发展容许潜入海洋最深处后不足一年,便正式出发下潜。当时我正在美国海军潜艇效力,其间听闻寻找志愿者驾驶深海潜艇(bathyscaphe)的请求,所谓深海潜艇是指可以潜入海洋更深处的潜水器。我自愿参加项目,展开足以影响我一生的航程,下潜11公里,成功打破深潜纪录。

“水底世界最令我向往之处,便是仿如探索新星球的体验。”

我们在船舱的生活环境狭窄。雅克・皮卡德身材高大,而我的身型不算庞大,正好使用余下的空间。船舱温度仅略佳于家居冰箱。那是1960年,大部份电子器材均会散发热量。地方狭小,但我们却非常忙碌,专注当前工作。此旅程标示着水底工作的崭新时代。

潜水期间,潜艇上还有另一位乘客,那是一只特制的劳力士腕表,今天我们亦会称它为“老佛爷”。当时,劳力士在日内瓦并未有测试深海防水功能的设施,因此我们便兼任为这款新腕表的测试平台。

腕表于九小时的潜水过程,一直抵受全深度水压。重返水面时,我十分好奇腕表的状态,结果它始终运作如常。它和我们的同样有杰出表现,任务非常顺利。我很高兴“老佛爷”的传统能够得以传承,我们的研究成果亦借着“老佛爷”,烙印在现今所有的劳力士腕表之上。

为庆祝缔造此潜水创举半世纪,品牌赠予我这只劳力士腕表,他们更在腕表底盖镌刻了“唐・沃尔什,深潜纪录1960年至2010年,以志祝贺。”我非常荣幸能拥有此腕表,并时刻佩戴着它。

“我很高兴‘老佛爷’的传统能够得以传承,我们的研究成果亦借着‘老佛爷’,烙印在现今所有的劳力士腕表之上。”

腕表提醒我自己的身份及所到之处,为我带来一份成就感及自豪。当我望着腕表,它便提醒我不可沉溺于过去。我们重视过往经验及昔日成就之余,仍须致力向前迈步。

探索他们的故事

#EveryRolexTellsAStory

Browser update required

Welcome to rolex.com. In order to provide you with the best possible experience, rolex.com requires an up-to-date browser. Please use a newer browser to explore our site.

Follow Rolex on WeChat by scanning the QR code.

Don Walsh

Every Rolex Tells a Story

In 1960 American Navy Lieutenant Don Walsh and Swiss oceanographer Jacques Piccard descended aboard the bathyscaphe Trieste to the Mariana Trench, beneath the Pacific Ocean, the deepest point in the world’s oceans. An experimental Rolex Oyster watch, the Deep Sea Special, now known as “The Old Lady” was fixed to its exterior of the Trieste and its crew not only set a record with their dive but established a fundamental milestone for deep-sea exploration. In a sense, Walsh’s DNA can be found in every subsequent Rolex watch made since.

Don Walsh

“I’m often asked by young people how do I become an explorer? And I say, “It’s very simple, you’re born an explorer.”

I’m often asked by young people — and they’re my favourite audience — how do I become an explorer? And I say, “It’s very simple, you’re born an explorer. You don’t have to climb the highest mountain or dive into the deepest place of the ocean, you just have to be curious about the world around you.”


The only thing I ever wanted to be was a sailor. In the late 1930s we lived in a house overlooking San Francisco Bay. I could see the ships going out through the Golden Gate and disappearing over the horizon and I said, “I wonder what’s out there and how do I see it? How do I do it?” I’ve been fortunate because I saw it, I did it, and I still am doing it. I’ve been to the North Pole, I’ve been on the bottom of the deepest part of the ocean, and 65 years later I’m still learning new things.


The greatest fascination for me under water is the idea that I’m visiting a new planet. After a few 100 metres, it’s totally dark and it’s like entering a new world, you’re introduced to organisms that are entirely at home and I’m not — I’m the outsider.

Yundi's Rolex watch

I first became aware of the possibility of visiting the very deepest part of the ocean less than a year before I did it. I had been serving in US Navy submarines when the request came to volunteer for something called a bathyscaphe, a machine that would allow you to go deeper into the ocean. I volunteered for the programme and embarked on a lifelong voyage with a rather short one – 11 kilometres – when I did the deepest dive.

“The greatest fascination for me under water is the idea that I’m visiting a new planet.”

Our living conditions in the cabin were rather tight. Jacques Piccard was a very tall man and I’m not very big – I would use whatever space was left over. The temperature was a little bit better than a household refrigerator. This was in 1960, when much of the electrical equipment we used radiated heat. It was cramped but we were very busy; we were on our game. It marked a new era of working in the ocean.

During our dive we had another passenger on board, a specially made Rolex watch, which today we call, “The Old Lady”. At the time they did not have a facility in Geneva to test to the full ocean depth, so we were the testing platform for this new watch.

It was exposed to full-depth pressure during the entire nine-hour dive. I was curious to see if was still working when we came up, and it was. It performed well, we performed well. It was a good day’s work. It pleases me a great deal that the heritage of “The Old Lady” watch continues – that my DNA that is from “The Old Lady” exists in all Rolex watches today.


To celebrate the half-century of this pioneering dive, I was presented this Rolex watch and they kindly engraved it on the back, “Don Walsh, deepest dive 1960, 2010, in appreciation.” I’m very proud of it — it never leaves my side.

“It pleases me a great deal that the heritage of “The Old Lady” watch continues – that my DNA that is from “The Old Lady” exists in all Rolex watches today.”

It reminds me of who I am, where I’ve been, and is a quiet sense of achievement, and pride. I look at it and it reminds me that we cannot live too much in the past. We have to respect the past and what’s been achieved but we have to look forward.

Discover their stories

#EveryRolexTellsAStory