磨光是勞力士腕錶得以綻放光彩的關鍵工序,為金屬表面帶來完美光澤和平滑觸感。 

儘管自動化技術相繼出現,但這個過程仍然講求嫻熟技藝,需要巧妙融合精準的計算、井然有序的步驟以至個人的藝術演繹。

全神貫注,目不轉晴。工匠的姿勢標準,抓緊中層錶殼的手穩而有力。當運用車床的旋轉磨光輪打磨蠔式錶殼時,雙手的平穩和力度缺一不可。錶殼滑動及轉換不同位置期間,工匠的手勢必須迅速、利落、準確,但又不失精妙。在磨光修飾最後階段的短短數秒鐘內,原來暗淡無光的啞面瞬間綻放勻稱光彩,為作品帶來無比亮澤。磨光師的工藝宛如一場以雙手和上身表演的芭蕾舞蹈,經過精心排演,立體多面,集靈敏、力量和動感於一身。
這更是一場壯觀的表演。有時候,20至30個中層錶殼會裝嵌於堅固木架上,讓磨光師可同一時間為每個組件磨光。此技術需要相當力度,而磨光的各個要素亦力臻至善:準備、掌控、施壓、運速及潤滑工序無一例外。

製錶工藝 金鋼磨光

多年專注

磨光師,現稱最終修飾者,能達至如斯熟練的境界,絕對是多年累積的成果。磨光學徙在三年訓練內,需要全面學習勞力士的工藝原則、工具、物料、精湛技術及過程,以至相關的應用技能。於緊接的五年工作實戰中,磨光師會掌握磨光的不同技術、所需速度及一致性,並逐步對自己的精湛技藝建立自信。屆時,大多數磨光師都會自然流露出對這門手藝的真摯情感,與手藝連成一體。

磨光工具

即使是擁有27年豐富經驗的部門專家,還是會對每名工作中的磨光師投以欽佩目光,不論是新學徒抑或是與他一樣的老手。他解釋:「靈巧手藝及對材質的掌握,是在學校或工作坊均無法教授的。每個人都有自己的步伐,而我還在努力學習中。」

技術程序

必要觸感

打磨時間過長,即使只是數秒,或是壓力過大,都會令磨光輪和研磨劑去除過多金屬,毀了整個錶殼的形狀。力度過輕、微小刮痕、坑紋或凹痕也可能會破壞表面,儘管肉眼未必可見,但熟練的磨光師只要一瞥或用指尖一碰,便可輕易察覺。各個組件、形狀及表面均需以獨特方式處理。每種金屬的確各具特性,情況或有不同,然而具備靈敏觸感的要求卻始終不變。

金相對柔軟,易於磨光,但稍一不慎,18ct金組件便會迅速變形;鉑金雖可軋壓,但過多壓力或摩擦力會輕易使其留下刻痕或凹痕;至於勞力士採用的蠔式鋼則難於處理,需要更多時間和力度方能達到均勻光澤。富經驗的磨光師需要一至三個月的時間適應新金屬。如今,部分磨光師更樂於接受挑戰,不僅令珍貴的18ct黃金變得瑰麗亮澤,更嘗試在堅固的不銹鋼上營造磨砂效果。

製錶工藝 必要觸感

磨光技術

過去二十五年間,腕銨磨光師的工作發生了巨大轉變。以往,磨光技術的傳承主要依賴於老工匠傳授實際經驗。然而,勞力士於多年間不斷鞏固嚴格技術基礎,逐步揭開這個專業領域的神秘面紗。

磨光技術

現在,每枚腕錶及組件的生產規格均列明磨光方法和標準,從車床和器具物料類型,以至特定修飾效果的技術與基本處理皆涵蓋其中。磨輪、砂帶、軟盤和磨光劑等器具用料,在選用前均經實驗室研究測試,以配合各種金屬或表面修飾。

隨著科技進步,自動化設備會輔助人手工序,有效地將磨光過程一分為二:一是主要由數控機床進行表面準備,另一則是手工表面修飾。兩個階段的磨光工序層層遞進,直至外觀最終呈現所需磨光或磨砂的光澤。在這時候,工匠獨到的手感和眼光均無可取替。

磨光技術

機床準備

在剛完成加工的錶殼及錶帶組件進行自動化表面處理期間,技藝嫻熟的磨光師總會以自己雙眼檢查各個零件。工作間內,由電腦操控的機械臂會模擬人手處理磨光的過程。機器從架上提取一排鏈節,自動切換至一連串的精確位置,在磨光輪上打磨。於此七分鐘的工序中,逐步去除原始加工金屬的脊位、刮痕和凹痕,  僅十餘微米的表面金屬會被除去,留下輕微啞面,為下一步的修飾作準備。此時,硬鋼零件會額外進行兩分鐘的自動預磨處理,有助避免繁重和重複的人手工序。

製錶工藝 機床準備

這些機器操作準備步驟大多使用切削油,以減少摩擦產生的熱力,從而避免影響貴金屬材質。磨輪和砂帶質地粗糙,由陶瓷、剛玉、碳化矽、金剛石等顆粒物料製成,有時更會有紅寶石成份。

精細磨光

鏡面拋光與磨砂修飾

表面修飾一般由人手在裝有軟盤的磨光車床內完成。工場最新增設的粉紅色刷輪以聚合物製成,構造與廚房擦洗墊相近,用於磨砂修飾。至於其他器具則採用不少天然物料,如編織劍麻、壓縮羊毛、法蘭絨或各種不同密度的棉層,並配以磨料精細的磨光劑。有了機械的協助,餘下的工序便得靠磨光師的技巧和造詣。

在最後增亮階段,磨光師會令鏡面磨光部分的觸感變得光滑細膩,並確保從錶殼或錶帶除去的材質不超過二至五微米。

錶殼初步磨光

兩個階段的磨砂修飾均需運用特定技術,一般都是根據刷痕的深度和寬度刷塗出表面紋理。在顯微鏡下,勞力士腕錶的刷痕完全平行,距離一致。肉眼觀看則展現出柔和勻稱的磨砂光澤。在錶帶糅合磨光和磨砂修飾,講求靈巧手藝,遮蔽膠帶則有助保護修飾表面。

事實上,磨光不僅影響表面修飾,更可改變錶帶的形狀。完成鏈節的初始準備後,便會組裝錶帶及磨光,令側翼輪廓變得均勻。磨光師亦可去除由每個獨立外部鏈節形成的斜邊,使錶帶線條更加流暢,並與錶殼和帶扣完美連接。

磨砂修飾

勞力士悉心製作每件傑作,除了可見的磨光位置,即使錶殼內部等表面看不見的地方,品牌亦以相同的心思和技術,為腕錶精細磨光。

分享此頁面

Polishing is one of the most telling stages in the making of a Rolex watch, providing the metal surfaces with their perfect final lustre and smoothness. 

Despite the advent of automated technology, the process remains steeped in a highly skilled craft, combining a deft touch with calculated precision, organized steps, and the expressive movements of a performing art.

Concentration is absolute. The eye is focused. His posture is set, the grip on the middle case is firm. Steadiness and strength of hand are essential as the Oyster case is brought against the lathe’s spinning buff wheel. The gestures are curt, sharp and precise, yet subtle, as the case glides and switches through different positions. In seconds, seemingly in a blur, the lightly matt surfaces have gained an even shine, completing one of the final stages of the finishing polish that create a high-quality sheen. The polisher’s craft resembles a precision ballet of the hands and upper body, a carefully choreographed and three-dimensional combination of sensitivity, strength and movement.
And it can be spectacular. In some instances 20 to 30 middle cases are threaded onto a sturdy wooden holder, allowing the polisher to shine their sides all at once. The technique demands greater strength, but the key elements of polishing are mastered to perfection: preparation, handling, applied pressure, speed of execution and lubrication.

Watchmaking rolesor polish

Years of dedication

It takes several years for a polisher – nowadays known as a termineur, a finisher – to reach such a level of proficiency and assurance. A three-year apprentice ship to learn the trade, its principles, tools, materials, the well-defined techniques and processes in force at Rolex, and to gain the ability to implement them. Followed by approximately five years on the job, to master the multiple facets of polishing and acquire speed, consistency, as well as the well-founded confidence that underpins each individual’s own virtuosity. By then, most polishers have declared sheer love for their craft and insist that such sentiment is essential.

Polishing tools

With the benefit of 27 years’ experience, a departmental expert still casts an admiring glance over each polisher at work, from the recent apprentice to the old hand like himself. “Dexterity and a feel for the material can’t be taught at school or in the workplace. These are things that each person masters at their own pace,” he explains, “I’m still learning”.

Technological progress

ESSENTIAL TOUCH

Too much time – sometimes a matter of seconds – or pressure, and the shape of the case could be ruined as polishing wheels and abrasive pastes remove too much metal. Too soft a touch, and minute scratches, grooves or pitting could mar the surface, potentially unseen to the average eye but easily detected by a skilled polisher’s glance and fingertips. Each component, shape and surface requires a unique approach. And each metal has its own character, demanding a different but no less sensitive touch in each instance.

Gold is softer and easier to shine, but an 18 ct component could be swiftly deformed if it were not worked with precision; platinum is malleable but easily scored or pitted through excess pressure or friction; and the steel used at Rolex, the Oystersteel, is notoriously difficult, demanding more time and strength to achieve an even lustre. An experienced polisher takes one to three months to adapt to a new metal. Today, some even relish the challenge of satin-finishing tough steel over rendering gleaming nobility to precious 18 ct yellow gold.

Watchmaking Essential Touch

POLISHING REVEALED

The watch polisher’s trade has changed immeasurably over a quarter of a century. Polishing used to be based largely on empirical experience amassed by the most experienced hands, who passed down their know-how to successive generations. Over the years the profession has been demystified, gaining a stricter technical base at Rolex.

Polishing Revealed

Polishing methods and criteria are now defined in the production specifications for each watch and component, from the types of machine tools and materials used, right the way down to the techniques and basic handling needed to achieve a specified finish. The materials – abrasive wheels, emery belts, soft discs and polishing pastes – are studied and tested in laboratories before-hand, and adapted to each metal or surface finish.

Technological progress has also brought about the introduction of automation to supplement the human hand, effectively dividing the polishing process into two: surface preparation, mainly carried out by numerically controlled machines, followed by largely manual surface finishing. Both stages, however, involve multiple and progressive layers of polishing until the brightening that provides the required polished or satin-finished final appearance. Here the human touch and eye is irreplaceable.

Polishing Revealed

Machine preparation

During automated surface preparation of the freshly machined case and bracelet components, skilled polishers always carry out visual checks of the parts. And the computer-controlled movements of the robot arms in the booths simulate the original human handling of manual polishing. A row of bracelet links is picked up from a rack and automatically switched through a series of precise positions against a polishing wheel for up to seven minutes, removing ridges, scratches and pitting on the raw, machined metal.  A few hundredths of a millimetre of surface metal is removed to leave a slightly matt surface, ready for finishing. Hard steel components go through an additional, two-minute automated pre-polishing process, which has the added benefit of avoiding strenuous and repetitive manual labour.

Watchmaking machine preparation

These preparatory machine operations are generally carried out with the help of cutting oil to reduce the heat caused by friction that can alter precious metals in particular. The abrasive wheels and emery belts are coarse, made of granulated materials including ceramic, corundum, silicon carbide, diamond, and sometimes ruby.

Precise polishing

Mirror and satin finish

Surface finishing, however, is generally carried out by hand on polishing lathes fitted with softer discs. A more recent addition is a polymer pink brush wheel closely related to a kitchen scrubbing pad, used to obtain a satin finish. But many of the materials are natural – woven sisal, compressed merino wool, flannel or layers of cotton of varying density – augmented by polishing pastes with fine abrasives. The rest is down to each polisher’s skill and finesse.

The brilliance of mirror-polished parts demands a smooth and delicate touch at the very final stage of brightening, to ensure that no more than two to five microns of material is removed from the case or bracelet.

Case rough polishing

A satin finish involves specific techniques at both stages, generally achieved by brushing to produce a surface texture that varies according to the depth and width of the brush marks. At Rolex it is characterized by the perfectly parallel, regularly spaced and homogeneous brush marks – when seen under a microscope. To the naked eye it offers an even, warm, satin sheen. Combined polished and satin finishes on bracelets are down to sheer dexterity and the use of masking tape to protect finished surfaces.

But polishing may also be used to influence shape, not only surface finish, especially on the bracelets. After the initial preparation of the links, bracelets are assembled and polished to achieve a uniform contour along their flanks. It is up to the polishers to eliminate the stepped sides formed by each individual outer link, refining them so that the bracelet elegantly links watch case and clasp with an even curve.

Satin finish

These are the visible sides of polishing. At Rolex, the love of a well-crafted watch is such that even surfaces unseen by the wearer, including inside the case, are polished with the same absolute care and science.

Share this page