تعتبر عملية الصقل من أكثر مراحل صنع الساعة تعبيرًا عن فنون ومهارات رولكس، حيث تثري سطح المعدن بلمعته المثالية وألقه الدائم. 

ورغم الاستعانة بالتقنيات الآلية، تظلّ هذه العملية مستندةً بصفة أساسية إلى الحِرَف اليدوية الماهرة والمدرّبة بعناية، والتي تعزز لمساتها الاحترافية بحسابات عالية الدقة، وخطوات منظّمة، فضلًا عن الحركات التعبيرية عن الفن الاستعراضي.

بتركيز تام.. وعينين حادتيّ النظر.. يتّخذ أخصائي الصقل وضعيته الملائمة، ويحكم قبضته على الحافة الجانبية للعلبة تمهيدًا لصقلها. وتعتبر جاهزية اليد وقوة إمساكها من العوامل الحاسمة خلال تعريض علبة أويستر إلى حافة ترس التلميع الدوّار المثبّت على المخرطة. وتتسم تعابير الوجه بأنها جافة وحادة ودقيقة، ولكنها بارعة، وذلك في أثناء انزلاق العلبة وتبديلها عبر مختلف الأوضاع خلال عملية الصقل. وفي غضون ثوانٍ، تكتسب الغشاوة البادية والأسطح المطفأة لمعةً أكثر بريقًا، ما يمثّل أروع تتمّة لواحدة من المراحل الختامية للصقل الذي يخلّف لمعةً عالية الجودة. ويؤدي متخصص الصقل الماهر ما يمكن تشبيهه برقصة باليه، بيديه وبالجزء العلوي من جسمه، في ظل نسق متقن وعلى خلفية توليفة ثلاثية الأبعاد من الحساسية والقوة والحركة.
وقد يكون الأمر أكثر إثارةً؛ ففي بعض الحالات يتم تثبيت عدد يتراوح من ٢٠ إلى ٣٠ علبة وسطية على حاملات خشبية صلبة، ما يسمح للمتخصص بصقل جوانبها كلها في نفس الوقت. وتتطلّب هذه التقنية قوة إضافية، ولكن العناصر الرئيسية للصقل يتم تجهيزها وصولًا إلى الوضع المثالي، من حيث التحضير والتداول والضغط المطبق وسرعة التنفيذ والتشحيم.

صناعة الساعات صقل روليسور

سنوات من الولاء

يستغرق الأمر عدة سنوات لأخصائي الصقل – الذي يشار إليه بالفرنسية في الوقت المعاصر بلفظ - تيرمينيور ومتخصص تنفيذ الملمس النهائي من أجل الوصول إلى ذلك المستوى من الكفاءة والدقة. وتُنفَق ثلاث سنوات من التدريب على تعلّم هذه الصناعة، ومبادئها، وأدواتها، وخاماتها، وتقنياتها المحددة بوضوح، والعمليات المعتمدة في رولكس، وذلك من أجل اكتساب القدرة على تنفيذها. ويتبع ذلك نحو خمس سنوات من العمل لإجادة مختلف أوجه الصقل واكتساب السرعة، والاتساق، علاوة على الثقة التي تثبّت براعة كل فرد. وعندئذ، يعلن غالبية متخصصي الصقل عشقهم البالغ لحِرَفهم، ويصرون على أن ذلك الشغف شيء لا يمكنهم الاستغناء عنه.

أدوات الصقل

ورغم تمتّعه بخبرات طويلة تصل إلى ٢٧ عامًا، لا يزال أحد الخبراء الإداريين في هذا المجال يعتريه الإعجاب بالنظر إلى كل أخصائي صقل خلال عمله، من المتدربين الجُدد إلى تلك الأيادي الخبيرة شأنه هو نفسه. وعن ذلك يقول: "البراعة والإحساس بملمس الخامة مهارات لا يمكن تعلّمها بالمدرسة أو في مقر العمل؛ فهما عنصران يجيدهما كل إنسان بسرعته الخاصة"، ويضيف: "لا زلتُ أتعلم".

التطوّر التكنولوجي

لمسة أساسية

بسبب زيادة المدة الزمنية – أحيانًا لا تتعدّى ثوانٍ قليلة – أو زيادة الضغط، يمكن أن يتشوّه شكل العلبة، لأن ذلك يؤدي بتروّس الصقل والعجائن الكاشطة إلى نحت قدر أكبر من اللازم من المعدن. والملمس الفائق النعومة، أو التجاويف، أو تنقّر السطح، أو إصابته بالخدوش الدقيقة كلها عوامل يمكن أن تفسد ذلك السطح، وقد تكون هذه الظواهر غير مرئية بالعين المجردة، ومع ذلك يسهل على أخصائي الصقل الماهر تتبّعها بمجرد نظرة سريعة أو لمسة بأطراف أصابعه. وكل مكوّن، وكل شكل، وكل سطح يحتاج نهجًا فريدًا. ولكل معدن شخصيته المميّزة، ولذلك يحتاج لمسات مختلفة، ولكن ليست أقل حساسيةً.

يمتاز الذهب بكونه أكثر نعومةً وأكثر قابليةً للمعان، ولكن النوعية من عيار ١٨ قيراطًا يمكن أن تتشوّه بسرعة إذا لم يتم تشكيلها بدقّة، أما البلاتين فهو معدن ليّن ولكنه سهل الخدوش والتنقير بفعل الضغط أو الاحتكاك الزائد. بينما الفولاذ الذي يُستعمَل في رولكس، فهو فولاذ أويستر ستيل، يشتهر بصعوبة تشكيله، إذ يستلزم أوقاتًا أطول وقوة أكبر لتحقيق لمعة متسقة. ويستغرق أخصائي الصقل الخبير من شهر إلى ثلاثة أشهر للتكيُّف مع المعدن الجديد. واليوم، يستمتع البعض بخوض تحدّي الصقل الساتاني للفولاذ الصلب أكثر من متعته بمنح تلك اللمعة النبيلة للذهب الأصفر عيار ١٨ قيراطًا.

صناعة الساعات لمسة أساسية

سبر أغوار فنون الصقل

لقد تغيّرت طبيعة مهنة أخصائي صقل الساعات بشكل يصعب حصره على مدار ربع قرن. وجرى العُرف على أن يستند الصقل بشكل موسع إلى الخبرات التراكمية التي اكتسبتها أمهر الأيادي، والتي مررت خبراتها العملية العميقة إلى الأجيال التالية. وعلى مدار السنوات، تم تيسير مهام هذه المهنة، واكتسبت قاعدة تقنية أكثر صرامةً في رولكس.

سبر أغوار فنون الصقل

ويتم الآن تحديد أساليب الصقل ومعاييره ضمن مواصفات الإنتاج الخاصة بكل ساعة ومكوّن، من أنواع الآلات والخامات المستخدمة، وصولًا إلى التقنيات وأساليب التداول الأساسية اللازمة للوصول إلى ملمس محدد. ويتم دراسة الخامات – التروس الكاشطة، وألواح الصنفرة، والأقراص الناعمة، والعجائن الكاشطة – ثم يتم اختبارها في المختبرات بشكل مسبق، ثم يتم تكييفها على ملمس كل خامة وسطح.

وقد أسهم التطوّر التكنولوجي أيضًا في تقدّم التشغيل الآلي كي يكمل مهارات اليد البشرية. وتنقسم عملية الصقل فعليًا إلى قسمين هما: تجهيز السطح، والتي يتم تنفيذها بصفة أساسية بالاستعانة بالآلات التي يتم التحكم فيها رقميًا، ثم تتبعها عملية وضع اللمسة النهائية على السطح، والتي تتم يدويًا بدرجة كبيرة. ومع ذلك، تنطوي المرحلتان على طبقات متعددة ومتنامية من الصقل وصولًا إلى اللمعة التي تؤمّن المظهر المصقول أو الساتاني، حسب الحاجة. وفي هذه المرحلة، تعتبر لمسة اليد ونظرة العين عنصرين لا غنى عنهما.

سبر أغوار فنون الصقل

تجهيز الآلات

خلال مرحلة التجهيز الآلي لسطح علبة أو سوار تم تشكيلهما حديثًا، دائمًا ما يقوم أخصائيو الصقل المهرة بفحص تلك المكوّنات بصريًا. وتتولّى حركات أذرع الروبوتات الآلية التي يتم التحكم فيها بالكمبيوتر محاكاة أسلوب اليد البشرية خلال الصقل اليدوي، إذ يتم التقاط صف من وصلات الأساور من على حامل، ثم يتم تلقائيًا تشكيلها عبر سلسلة من الأوضاع الدقيقة مقابل ترس صقل لمدة تصل إلى سبع دقائق، مع إزالة النتوءات الجانبية، والخدوش، والتنقير من على المعدن الخام المُشكّل.  وخلال ذلك، يتم إزالة أجزاء قليلة من مئة جزء من المليمتر من السطح لتركه مطفأ بعض الشيء، وعلى أتم استعداد لعملية الصقل. وتمر المكونات الفولاذية عبر عملية صقل آلية إضافية لمدة دقيقتين، والتي توفر ميزة إضافية لتجنُّب العمل اليدوي المتكرر والمرهق.

صناعة الساعات تجهيز الآلات

وعادةً ما يتم تنفيذ هذه العمليات الآلية التحضيرية بمساعدة زيت خاص للمخارط لتبريد الحرارة التي تنشأ عن الاحتكاك، والتي يمكن أن تشوّه المعادن النفيسة على وجه الخصوص. وتروس الكشط وألواح الصنفرة خشنة بطبعها، إذ تصنع من خامات محببة تشمل السيراميك، وأكسيد الألمنيوم، وكربيد السيلكون، والألماس، وأحيانًا الياقوت.

صقل دقيق

الصقل العاكس والصقل الساتاني

صقل السطح، رغم ذلك، يتم تنفيذه بصفة عامة يدويًا على مخارط صقل مجهّزة بأقراص ناعمة. وثمة إضافة حديثة يمثّلها ترس تفريش البوليمر الوردي، والذي يشبه إلى حد بعيد حشيّة حك الأواني بالمطبخ، ويتم استعماله عند الحاجة للملمس الساتاني. ولكن الكثير من الخامات الطبيعية – مثل السيزال المنسوج، أو صوف ميرينو المضغوط، أو الفلانيل، أو طبقات القطن ذات الكثافة المتباينة – يزداد حجمها بفعل عجائن الصقل المشتملة على عناصر كشط دقيقة. ويعود ما يتبقى إلى مهارة وإتقان أخصائي الصقل.

ويتطلّب بريق الأجزاء ذات الصقل العاكس لمسة ناعمة ورقيقة في المرحلة النهائية من عملية التلميع، لضمان ألّا تتجاوز عملية الإزالة أكثر من خمسة ميكرونات من سُمك خامة العلبة أو السوار.

صقل خشن للعلبة

وينطوي الملمس الساتاني على تقنيات خاصة في المرحلتين كلتيهما، وعادةً ما يتحقق ذلك عن طريق التفريش لإنتاج ملمس سطح يتباين وفقًا لعمق واتساع العلامات التي تخلّفها الفرشاة. وفي رولكس، تتسم هذه العملية بتوازٍ مثالي، وبتباعد منتظم، مع تجانس علامات الفرشاة – عند النظر إليها عبر المجهر. وبالنسبة للعين المجرّدة، تنطوي هذه العناصر على لمعة متساوية، ودافئة، وساتانية. ويعود الملمس الذي يجمع بين المصقول والساتاني للأساور إلى البراعة المطلقة واستعمال شريط لحماية السطح بعد تنفيذه.

وعلاوة على ذلك، يمكن توظيف الصقل أيضًا في التأثير على الشكل، وليس فقط ملمس السطح، وخاصة بالنسبة لأساور الساعات. وبعد التحضيرات الأولية للوصلات، يتم تجميع الأساور وصقلها لتحقيق شكل محيطي موحّد عبر جوانبها. ويعود إلى متخصصي الصقل مسؤولية إزالة الجوانب المتدرّجة التي تتشكل بفعل كل وصلة منفردة من الوصلات الخارجية، مع تنقيحها بحيث يتصل السوار بأناقة مع العلبة والمشبك بانحناءة رقيقة.

الصقل الساتاني

هذه هي الجوانب الظاهرة من عملية الصقل. ولدى رولكس، يسري الشغف بابتكار ساعات مصنوعة على نحو مثالي لدرجة أن الأسطح الخفيّة التي لا يراها مرتدي الساعة يتم صقلها بنفس مستوى العناية والدقة.

شارك هذه الصفحة

Polishing is one of the most telling stages in the making of a Rolex watch, providing the metal surfaces with their perfect final lustre and smoothness. 

Despite the advent of automated technology, the process remains steeped in a highly skilled craft, combining a deft touch with calculated precision, organized steps, and the expressive movements of a performing art.

Concentration is absolute. The eye is focused. His posture is set, the grip on the middle case is firm. Steadiness and strength of hand are essential as the Oyster case is brought against the lathe’s spinning buff wheel. The gestures are curt, sharp and precise, yet subtle, as the case glides and switches through different positions. In seconds, seemingly in a blur, the lightly matt surfaces have gained an even shine, completing one of the final stages of the finishing polish that create a high-quality sheen. The polisher’s craft resembles a precision ballet of the hands and upper body, a carefully choreographed and three-dimensional combination of sensitivity, strength and movement.
And it can be spectacular. In some instances 20 to 30 middle cases are threaded onto a sturdy wooden holder, allowing the polisher to shine their sides all at once. The technique demands greater strength, but the key elements of polishing are mastered to perfection: preparation, handling, applied pressure, speed of execution and lubrication.

Watchmaking rolesor polish

Years of dedication

It takes several years for a polisher – nowadays known as a termineur, a finisher – to reach such a level of proficiency and assurance. A three-year apprentice ship to learn the trade, its principles, tools, materials, the well-defined techniques and processes in force at Rolex, and to gain the ability to implement them. Followed by approximately five years on the job, to master the multiple facets of polishing and acquire speed, consistency, as well as the well-founded confidence that underpins each individual’s own virtuosity. By then, most polishers have declared sheer love for their craft and insist that such sentiment is essential.

Polishing tools

With the benefit of 27 years’ experience, a departmental expert still casts an admiring glance over each polisher at work, from the recent apprentice to the old hand like himself. “Dexterity and a feel for the material can’t be taught at school or in the workplace. These are things that each person masters at their own pace,” he explains, “I’m still learning”.

Technological progress

ESSENTIAL TOUCH

Too much time – sometimes a matter of seconds – or pressure, and the shape of the case could be ruined as polishing wheels and abrasive pastes remove too much metal. Too soft a touch, and minute scratches, grooves or pitting could mar the surface, potentially unseen to the average eye but easily detected by a skilled polisher’s glance and fingertips. Each component, shape and surface requires a unique approach. And each metal has its own character, demanding a different but no less sensitive touch in each instance.

Gold is softer and easier to shine, but an 18 ct component could be swiftly deformed if it were not worked with precision; platinum is malleable but easily scored or pitted through excess pressure or friction; and the steel used at Rolex, the Oystersteel, is notoriously difficult, demanding more time and strength to achieve an even lustre. An experienced polisher takes one to three months to adapt to a new metal. Today, some even relish the challenge of satin-finishing tough steel over rendering gleaming nobility to precious 18 ct yellow gold.

Watchmaking Essential Touch

POLISHING REVEALED

The watch polisher’s trade has changed immeasurably over a quarter of a century. Polishing used to be based largely on empirical experience amassed by the most experienced hands, who passed down their know-how to successive generations. Over the years the profession has been demystified, gaining a stricter technical base at Rolex.

Polishing Revealed

Polishing methods and criteria are now defined in the production specifications for each watch and component, from the types of machine tools and materials used, right the way down to the techniques and basic handling needed to achieve a specified finish. The materials – abrasive wheels, emery belts, soft discs and polishing pastes – are studied and tested in laboratories before-hand, and adapted to each metal or surface finish.

Technological progress has also brought about the introduction of automation to supplement the human hand, effectively dividing the polishing process into two: surface preparation, mainly carried out by numerically controlled machines, followed by largely manual surface finishing. Both stages, however, involve multiple and progressive layers of polishing until the brightening that provides the required polished or satin-finished final appearance. Here the human touch and eye is irreplaceable.

Polishing Revealed

Machine preparation

During automated surface preparation of the freshly machined case and bracelet components, skilled polishers always carry out visual checks of the parts. And the computer-controlled movements of the robot arms in the booths simulate the original human handling of manual polishing. A row of bracelet links is picked up from a rack and automatically switched through a series of precise positions against a polishing wheel for up to seven minutes, removing ridges, scratches and pitting on the raw, machined metal.  A few hundredths of a millimetre of surface metal is removed to leave a slightly matt surface, ready for finishing. Hard steel components go through an additional, two-minute automated pre-polishing process, which has the added benefit of avoiding strenuous and repetitive manual labour.

Watchmaking machine preparation

These preparatory machine operations are generally carried out with the help of cutting oil to reduce the heat caused by friction that can alter precious metals in particular. The abrasive wheels and emery belts are coarse, made of granulated materials including ceramic, corundum, silicon carbide, diamond, and sometimes ruby.

Precise polishing

Mirror and satin finish

Surface finishing, however, is generally carried out by hand on polishing lathes fitted with softer discs. A more recent addition is a polymer pink brush wheel closely related to a kitchen scrubbing pad, used to obtain a satin finish. But many of the materials are natural – woven sisal, compressed merino wool, flannel or layers of cotton of varying density – augmented by polishing pastes with fine abrasives. The rest is down to each polisher’s skill and finesse.

The brilliance of mirror-polished parts demands a smooth and delicate touch at the very final stage of brightening, to ensure that no more than two to five microns of material is removed from the case or bracelet.

Case rough polishing

A satin finish involves specific techniques at both stages, generally achieved by brushing to produce a surface texture that varies according to the depth and width of the brush marks. At Rolex it is characterized by the perfectly parallel, regularly spaced and homogeneous brush marks – when seen under a microscope. To the naked eye it offers an even, warm, satin sheen. Combined polished and satin finishes on bracelets are down to sheer dexterity and the use of masking tape to protect finished surfaces.

But polishing may also be used to influence shape, not only surface finish, especially on the bracelets. After the initial preparation of the links, bracelets are assembled and polished to achieve a uniform contour along their flanks. It is up to the polishers to eliminate the stepped sides formed by each individual outer link, refining them so that the bracelet elegantly links watch case and clasp with an even curve.

Satin finish

These are the visible sides of polishing. At Rolex, the love of a well-crafted watch is such that even surfaces unseen by the wearer, including inside the case, are polished with the same absolute care and science.

Share this page