机械腕表装配大量活动组件,与摩擦学(tribology)息息相关。

摩擦学此新兴的科学范畴主要研究摩擦力、磨损度、润滑性能,以及各个活动表面的相互作用。若非摩擦学家能令组件恰到好处地旋转、滑动或固定,现代精密时计很可能在运行不久便停顿下来。

摩擦学家常说,只有一件腕表组件他们不用钻研,那就是表盘。静止的表盘不会触碰其他活动组件,因而不会磨损。换言之,腕表机芯及其微小的活动组件、外壳、外圈、镜面、表带和带扣,以至生产过程、机械、工具和润滑油,全都在摩擦学家的检查范围之内。摩擦学家集工程师、化学家及制表匠的知识于一身。如今,劳力士的专业摩擦学家团队,成功把腕表的可靠度、精确度及舒适度提升至前所未有的水平。

摩擦学家

新兴科学

摩擦学在1960年代末至1980年代间才正式出现,其时外界逐渐了解高科技工程所用的材质受压时的各种反应。于过去的数个世纪,这门涵盖广阔的科学的部分原理已在无意间被应用。制表先驱约翰・哈里森(John Harrison)在18世纪创造出首个超精密时计──航海天文钟,为了减低摩擦力的影响,他竭力制作史上首个无需使用润滑剂的时钟装置。当时,由动物或植物脂肪制成的润滑油很易变坏,效果强差人意,直接削弱航海仪器的重要作用。

然而,在21世纪初,这门新科学才逐步发展,并有系统地促进制表技术的沿革。在机械机芯中应用摩擦学,对腕表的精确度、寿命和功能有着关键的影响。

组装机芯

在表壳和表带中应用摩擦学,则有助提升腕表的舒适度、质量和美感。佩戴腕表的人不难察觉当中的转变,譬如在开合劳力士腕表时,蚝式保险扣会带来令人感到稳妥的喀哒声和触感;而有赖摩擦学的应用,为最新推出的星期日历型及新一代机芯奠下精准度的新标准。

日历和星期显示

起初,摩擦学家的工作主要是事后解决难题,需要无比耐性,因为可能有问题的组件及相关证据,或会因磨损而损坏。然而,于过去15年间,在产品的研发阶段,研发人员挑选物料及设计零件时已运用摩擦学的原理,对摩擦学而言是长足的发展。

细至微米

新机芯的误差范围极细,与航空航天业的标准不相伯仲。尺寸微小的旋转轴或齿轮的摩擦力和磨损是十分巨大的。

细至微米

宝石轴承或齿轮齿口承受的压力,有如火车头在路轨上驶过所产生的压力。腕表的每一下嘀嗒声,代表擒纵装置的脉动及摩擦,磨损就这样产生,而这样的摩擦在劳力士腕表中每年产生多达2亿5千万次。而活动表面之间的接触印痕,最细只有数个微米。

18世纪,钟表轴承以坚硬宝石制成,以减低因黄铜枢轴摩擦而引起的磨损。与此同时,若非研发出持久耐用的润滑油,今天的精密机械腕表机芯很可能在两周内便会停顿,留下大量的金属屑。

设置擒纵系统

制造高科技润滑油

在摩擦学家的指导下合成高性能润滑油,取代十多年前沿用的动物蹄部油脂。劳力士是唯一在专门实验室内自行研制润滑油的制表品牌。每种润滑剂都有特定用途,研发过程长达十年。低粘度或较薄身的润滑剂,大多用于高速接触点,如游丝摆轮。高粘度或较厚身的润滑剂则用于联动轮等承受高压和撞击的位置。

事实上,润滑油的用量极少。每年,整个瑞士钟表业大约只耗用100升专用润滑油。在劳力士机芯中,一般有50至100个润滑点,视乎型号而定,所需的润滑油仅仅数微升而已。在摩擦学的带动下,每滴润滑油均经科学计算,并由熟练的操作人员以自动注射器加至机芯之上,确保分量正确无误。过多润滑油会导致活动组件黏连或减速,太少则会增加磨损。

当然,表匠要考虑的事项绝不止于此。名为“epilames”的纳米涂层,可更改组件的表面张力,确保润滑油停留在同一位置或特定地方。即使润滑油的体积极为微细,其形状和弯曲率亦经慎重考虑。例如,在一段时间后,球状液滴有机会于两个表面之间展开,失去缓冲作用。

精准配对

有些时候,适量摩擦也有好处。经精心设计和协调的旋转外圈装置便是一例。纵航者型外圈独有的三角坑纹形状和几何结构,均经仔细研究,确保手感舒适。

摩擦学家对精确度的触觉十分敏锐,每当谈及金属,他们注意的并非其平滑,而是其粗糙。因为他们知道即使在电子显微镜下观察抛光表面,其光滑度与肉眼所看到的或指尖的感觉都不一样。摩擦学家还会分析磨砂表面,确保抛光过程不会令表面磨损。

表带充分展现出摩擦学的成果。在铂金和黄金蚝式表带,以及著名的星期日历型元首型(President)表带中,特制的陶质嵌件内置于各个链节内,以减少不同特性的金属表面在摩擦时产生的磨损。这些嵌件亦确保表带佩戴舒适。表带不可使用润滑油,因为它属于腕表的外露部分,故较容易会被洗掉,甚至会弄脏佩戴者的衣服。

面对如斯复杂的工序,我们不难理解这些专家大多持有学位以上的资历。他们每天的工作都是建基于有条不紊、严谨精密的科学之上。然而,摩擦学家也有浪漫的一面:他们就如“媒人”般,“撮合”不同的材质和活动组件,使各者平衡协调。

摩擦学家集工程师、化学家及制表匠的知识于一身。

红色润滑油

分享此页面

With its large number of moving parts, the mechanical wristwatch was made to measure for the young and cutting-edge science of tribology

The study of friction, wear, lubrication and how moving surfaces interact. A modern, precision timepiece might simply grind to a halt without the holistic vision of tribologists and their ability to make components spin, slide or grip to perfection.

Tribologists often say that only one watch component rightfully escapes their attention: the dial. It is static, untouched by other moving components and protected from wear and tear. Otherwise, the watch movement and its tiny moving parts, the case, bezel, crystal, the bracelet and clasp, as well as production processes, machinery, tools and lubricants, all come under the scrutiny of these Renaissance men and women. Their science combines the knowledge of the engineer, the chemist and the watchmaker. Today, dedicated teams of tribologists at Rolex are key to raising reliability, accuracy and comfort to unprecedented levels.

Trigologists

New Science

Tribology only emerged between the late 1960s and 1980s with growing understanding of the multiple effects of stress on materials used in high-technology engineering industries. Nonetheless, some of the principles of this multi-disciplinary science have been applied unwittingly for centuries. When pioneering watchmaker John Harrison created the first ultra-precise timepieces, marine chronometers, in the 18th century, in order to minimize the impact of friction, he went to great lengths to make the first-ever clockwork mechanisms that did not need lubrication. At the time, oils were of poor quality, made of animal or vegetable fats that deteriorated quickly, limiting their efficacy for vital navigational instruments on the high seas.

Yet, it is only on the threshold of this millennium that new science evolved and came to complement the watchmaking craft in a systematic manner. Applied to the mechanical movement, tribology has a fundamental impact on precision, longevity and the very functioning of a watch.

Calibre assembly

Applied to the case and bracelet, it influences comfort, quality and aesthetics. Its impact is evident to the user, ranging from the reassuring click and feel of the Oysterlock clasp on a Rolex watch when it is opened and shut, to the latest new-generation movement, which extensively resorts to tribology in order to set new standards of precision.

Day and date display

Initially, tribologists were often employed as problem solvers, a baffling task that demands enormous patience because the suspect component itself – and therefore the evidence – may have been destroyed by wear. However, the biggest evolution over the past 15 years has been their intervention in research and development, when materials are chosen and parts are designed.

Down to the Micron

The newest watch movements are manufactured to extremely fine tolerances equivalent to those found in the aerospace industry. Scaled down to the infinitesimally small size of spinning staffs or gear wheels, the forces involved in friction and wear are immense.

Down to the micron

The pressure on ruby bearings or the teeth of a gear wheel is equivalent to that exerted by a locomotive on its rails. Each tick of a watch corresponds to an impulse given by the escapement and therefore a moment of friction and wear: there are some 250 million of them a year in a Rolex watch. The contact patches between moving surfaces, however, can be tiny: a few microns.

In the 18th century, hard rubies were first used as bearings in watchmaking to minimize the destructive wear caused by friction on brass pivots. Equally, without highly developed, long-lasting oils, today’s high-precision mechanical watch movement would seize up within a fortnight, leaving a mass of metal shavings.

Escapement placement

Making High-Tech Lubricants

These high-performance lubricants are synthesized under the guidance of tribologists, replacing oils or greases derived from animal hooves that were still on the shelves about a decade ago. Rolex is the only watchmaking brand that develops and makes its own range of lubricants in-house at a specialized laboratory. Each type of oil has a specific application and requires about a decade of R&D. Low viscosity, or thinner, lubricants are used for high-speed contacts, such as in the oscillator. High viscosity, or thicker, ones are employed in high-pressure, impacting contacts such as the gear trains.

The quantities used are breath-takingly small. Just 100 litres of specialist lubricants, approximately, are thought to be consumed by the whole Swiss watch industry each year. Mere microlitres of lubricants are applied to each single Rolex movement across 50 to 100 lubrication points, depending on the model. Since tribology came into play, each drop is scientifically calculated and applied by skilled operators using a type of automated syringe in order to ensure the right dose. Too much oil can lead to moving components sticking or being slowed down. Too little increases wear and friction.

But the huge range of criteria taken into account doesn’t stop there. Nanometric coatings called epilames may be used on part of a component to modify surface tension and ensure the lubricant stays in place or in a given area. Even the shape and curvature of a microscopic drop of oil is carefully considered. For example, a purely spherical droplet might roll out between two surfaces in due course instead of cushioning them.

Achieving the precise Math

Sometimes a degree of friction is desirable. For example, the mechanics of a rotatable bezel are carefully designed and balanced. Even the shape and geometry of the characteristic fluting of a Sky-Dweller’s bezel were studied to ensure the ideal grip for the user.

Tribologists have such an acute sense of precision that they rarely speak of the smoothness of metal but of its roughness, because they know that even a polished surface examined under an electron microscope is never as smooth as it looks to the eye or feels to the fingertip. Satin-finish surfaces are also analysed by tribologists to ensure they do not become polished with wear.

But the most outwardly obvious fruit of the advent of tribology may be found on the bracelet. In platinum and gold Oyster bracelets, and the President bracelet, notably on the new Day-Date, ceramic inserts were developed and placed inside each link to reduce the wear that may develop when the surfaces rub, due to the inherent characteristics of each metal. The inserts also ensure an exceptionally supple fit for the bracelet. Lubricants would have been unsatisfactory because they would swiftly wash off such an exposed part of the watch, and stain the wearer’s clothes.

With such scope, it is not surprising to find that many of these specialists have completed advanced study beyond degree level. Their working day is governed by methodical and rigorous science, yet tribologists are ultimately romantics at heart: they are matchmakers, who marry materials and moving parts to work together in perfect harmony.

The tribologist combines the knowledge of the engineer, the chemist and the watchmaker.

Science Friction centre formation

Share this page