漢斯・威爾斯多夫 - 徜徉勞力士世界
漢斯・威爾斯多夫 - 徜徉勞力士世界

徜徉勞力士世界

漢斯・威爾斯多夫(HANS WILSDORF)是一位具有革新精神且追求卓越的偉人。

自品牌創立一百多年來,無論於製錶領域亦或進一步至社會貢獻層面,我們始終堅持奉行創辦人的精神與理念。

高瞻遠矚的企業家

早年

在二十世紀初,倫敦一位高瞻遠矚的企業家正逐步邁向成功。何為他的目標? 向製錶界介紹當時尚不為人知的腕錶品牌:勞力士。這個於1908年問世的新名字,在短短數十年內成為世界上最受推崇的品牌之一。正如漢斯・威爾斯多夫在其回憶錄中所描述的,公司成立之初,他認為説服持反對意見的人是非常不易的。

這位企業家在起步之初,舉步為艱,然而他卻擁有最寶貴的成功要素:高瞻遠矚、充滿對未來的希望、不懈追求卓越的精神,以及非凡的工作能力。漢斯・威爾斯多夫在12歲的時候成為孤兒,但他憑藉其堅毅個性,克服重重挑戰,發明了世界上第一枚搭載恒動擺陀的防水自動上鏈腕錶,此腕錶已成為品質的基準,獨具威望。

研發蠔式腕錶

腕錶在英國愛德華時代備受質疑,當時舉國上下均非常崇尚運動,認為腕錶「太複雜,太脆弱,難以適應」。然而,漢斯・威爾斯多夫憑藉敏銳的直覺、堅定的信念及突破界限的決心,成功推出防水時計原型──Oyster Perpetual,此枚腕錶不僅精確堅固,且能抵禦所有惡劣環境。

漢斯・威爾斯多夫不僅僅是高瞻遠矚之士,更具有豐富的製錶知識、積極進取的企業家精神及革新思維。有賴於此,多年來勞力士腕錶以優異技術和獨特美學,為公司的恒久成功奠定了基礎。他不懈追求完美,慷慨大方,並堅信人類具有無限潛力、革新和克服困難的能力。漢斯・威爾斯多夫也是一個富有同情心的人,永遠準備好挑戰自我,並鼓勵他人全力以赴。

基於傳統,推動創新。不斷突破極限以激發靈感。這些信念使勞力士創造出非凡產品,腕錶不僅匯集豐富專業知識,更是伴隨了諸多探險活動。

集賢納才

各個領域的專家

作為一家既實現垂直整合又保持獨立生產模式的企業,勞力士擁有豐富的製造資源,其中涵蓋廣泛的製造工藝及專業知識知識。從腕錶的設計到製造,製錶師、工程師、設計師及專家皆緊密合作。勞力士的企業文化以人為本,將專業知識和綜合技能融入於品牌的各種層面。

勞力士擁有各個領域的專家。員工的專業技能讓公司可以完全自主的製造所有零部件,從合金的鑄造,機芯、錶殼、錶面及錶帶的組裝、加工製造和最後工序,以及寶石鑲嵌都可內部完成。品牌憑藉專有的設備,不斷加強產品品質,並借助於遍佈全球超卓的售後服務網絡,確保全球客戶隨時能享受其卓越技術。

追求卓越

為確保品牌的專業知識得以傳承與延續,勞力士建立了自己獨特的培訓中心。該中心位於日內瓦,致力於追求卓越和員工的發展,為員工提供培訓課程並指導學徒,旨在將其掌握的技術和知識傳授於年輕的下一代。

漢斯・威爾斯多夫不僅注重勞力士在商業上的成功,亦關心員工的福祉。培訓中心秉承這一理念,注重個人進行培訓和發展指導,傳承公司優秀的企業文化。希冀培訓中心將品牌的定位為當代和後代的榜樣及靈感來源。

與眾不同的腕錶

先鋒時計

大約一個世紀前,漢斯・威爾斯多夫創造了世界上最精確可靠的腕錶。憑藉對品質永不妥協的要求,品牌始終走在技術的最前端,並不斷完善、改進、革新腕錶。

1926年,勞力士在原蠔式腕錶的成功基礎上,推出Oyster Perpetual系列並取得了專利。蠔式腕錶是世界上第一款防水腕錶,在現代製錶業的發展史上具有先鋒地位。多年來,蠔式腕錶匯集了諸多引以為傲的創新成果,諸如1931年勞力士發明的自動上鏈系統──恒動擺陀,即定義並成就了勞力士腕錶精準、可靠與卓越的基石。

腕錶系列的演變

蠔式腕錶繼1940年代初期推出後,逐漸發展出匯集革新功能與創新技術於一體的腕錶系列。該系列内的錶款都具備蠔式腕錶的基本特徵與顯著的視覺風格,一眼就能識別。如今,該系列内大約有15款不同錶款,包括經典腕錶,如Datejust、Day-Date、Sky-Dweller,以及為特定活動而設計的專業腕錶,如Explorer、Submariner與GMT-Master II。

勞力士腕錶在各種極端環境下,從海洋最深處到最高的山峰、於高空和賽道上,皆能完美體現其可靠性。

為確保產品品質,勞力士自行設計與生產腕錶的核心部件(合金的鑄造,機芯、錶殼、錶面及錶帶的組裝、加工製造和最後工序)。作為製錶業的先驅,勞力士擁有多項重大創新發明與500多項專利。

致力創造更美好的世界

縱觀其史,勞力士積極參與各種活動,支持不同機構及卓越人士,並從中汲取靈感。品牌謹遵創辦人的願景,不懈支持並參與擁有企業價值觀──追求卓越、突破界限、彰顯優雅──相符的計劃。

基於此理念,1927年,勞力士選擇英國泳將梅賽迪絲・吉莉斯(Mercedes Gleitze)為品牌代言人,她完美驗證了品牌腕錶的防水性能。此後,勞力士與眾多傑出人士攜手合作,並積極支持各個重要機構於不同領域内的多項計劃及代言人的個人計劃。

天然實驗室

漢斯・威爾斯多夫一直視廣闊的世界為天然的實驗室。1930年代,勞力士在真實環境中測試腕錶的各項性能。探險家們佩戴腕錶抵達世界各地最極端惡劣的環境,並為大眾揭示地球生態系統的脆弱以及開展保育工作的必要性。有鑑於此,勞力士也全力支持探險家與保護環境的先驅者。

時至今日,勞力士與百多項重大國際活動合作,包括英國公開賽、溫布頓錦標賽、威尼斯建築雙年展及奧斯卡金像獎頒獎典禮,並且與皇家古老高爾夫球俱樂部(R&A)、米蘭斯卡拉歌劇院(Teatro alla Scala)、美國電影藝術與科學學院等80多家知名機構建立了緊密合作關係。品牌擁有140多名代言人,其中包括網壇傳奇人物羅傑・費達拿(Roger Federer)、海洋生物學家絲維雅・艾爾(Sylvia Earle)及電影製片人馬田・史高西斯(Martin Scorsese)。此外,勞力士還創立了兩項慈善計劃:勞力士雄才偉略大獎(Rolex Awards for Enterprise)與勞力士創藝推薦資助計劃(Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative)。前者支持個人以創新計劃應對重大挑戰,改善人類福祉,後者則旨在倡導卓越的藝術和文化的傳承,以確保優秀的世界藝術傳統代代相傳。

漢斯・威爾斯多夫 總結
漢斯・威爾斯多夫 總結

從始至今,勞力士不懈追求完美、勇於突破極限為世人所稱道。

志在追求卓越,且不輕言放棄,並富有創新思維。創辦人漢斯・威爾斯多夫堅信勞力士具有無窮潛力,不斷創新研發、積極進取,確保恒久卓越。

分享此頁面

A voyage into the World of Rolex

HANS WILSDORF WAS FIRMLY CONVINCED OF A PERSON’S ABILITY TO INNOVATE AND STRIVE FOR EXCELLENCE.

More than 100 years after the creation of the brand, the founder's philosophy is more present than ever, from the manufacturing of the company's watches to its commitments worldwide.

A Visionary Entrepreneur

The Early years

At the turn of the 20th century, a visionary entrepreneur based in London was on the verge of success. His aim? To introduce the watchmaking world of the day to an as-yet-unknown dial signature: Rolex. A new name, invented in 1908, it would become one of the world’s most respected brands in the space of a few decades. As Hans Wilsdorf recounted in his memoirs of the early days of his company, the opposition he faced seemed insurmountable at first.

The entrepreneur started out with very little, but he did possess invaluable qualities: vision, hope for the future, perseverance and an extraordinary ability to work. An orphan at the age of 12, with nothing other than his determination to help him overcome challenges, Hans Wilsdorf went on to invent the world’s first waterproof self-winding wristwatch with a Perpetual rotor – a watch that has become a benchmark in terms of quality and prestige.

Inventing the Oyster

“Too complicated, too fragile, ill-adapted” – the wristwatch was met with scepticism in Edwardian England, then the sporting country par excellence. Yet, relying on his intuition, firmly-held beliefs and determination to push boundaries, Hans Wilsdorf managed to achieve his bold objective of establishing the Rolex watch – the Oyster Perpetual – as the archetype of the waterproof timepiece: precise, robust and able to withstand all conditions.

But Hans Wilsdorf was not simply a visionary who, through his watchmaking knowledge, spirit of enterprise and ability to think differently, endowed Rolex watches with their fundamental technical and aesthetic characteristics and set the way for his company’s long-lasting success. His constant quest for perfection was accompanied by a profound generosity and unshakeable faith in human potential – in our capacity to both innovate and overcome difficulties. Hans Wilsdorf was a compassionate man always prepared to challenge himself and who encouraged others to give their all.

Draw from traditions to drive innovation. Push back the limits to inspire. These convictions enabled Rolex to create an exceptional product – a watch that brings together considerable expertise and has accompanied a great many human adventures in widely diverse fields.

Uniting expertise

A variety of professions

An integrated and independent company, Rolex has manufacturing resources that encompass a wide range of skills and knowledge. Watchmakers, engineers, designers and other specialists work closely together from the design to the manufacturing of the watches. Rolex’s company culture is based above all on human values, which place both expertise and soft skills at the heart of the brand’s different activities.

Rolex is host to a variety of professions, brought to life by employees who are experts in their fields. This diversity comes from the company’s complete control over its essential components, from the casting of gold alloys to machining, finishing and assembly of the movement, case, dial and bracelet elements, as well as gem-setting. The brand is able to constantly reinforce its quality requirements thanks to its exclusive equipment. Its know-how is also made available right across the world thanks to an exceptional after-sales service network.

The Pursuit of Excellence

To ensure the brand’s expertise exists into the future, Rolex has its own unique Training Centre. Dedicated to the pursuit of excellence and the development of its employees, the centre, located in Geneva, provides training to employees and instructs apprentices. The company aims to pass on to younger generations its pride in its skills and mastery of its knowledge.

Hans Wilsdorf wanted to ensure both the commercial success of Rolex and the wellbeing of its employees. The Training Centre perpetuates this philosophy by passing on the company’s heritage through the training and development of each individual. It therefore affirms the brand’s position as a role model and source of inspiration for the present generation and for generations to come.

A watch unlike the rest

A pioneering timepiece

Nearly a century ago, Hans Wilsdorf created the most precise and reliable wristwatch in the world. Thanks to uncompromising requirements, today the brand still produces watches at the forefront of technology and continues to improve them over time.

The Oyster Perpetual collection was built on the success of the original Oyster model, patented by Rolex and launched in 1926. As the world’s first waterproof wristwatch, it played a pioneering role in the development of the modern timepiece. Over the years, the Oyster became the proud bearer of many other innovations – such as self-winding by means of the Perpetual rotor (1931) – that defined the identity of the models in the collection and forged Rolex’s reputation for excellence, of which chronometric precision and reliability are among the cornerstones.

Evolution of the Collection

After acquiring its definitive form in the early 1940s, the Oyster gradually evolved into a collection of watches that integrated new functions and innovative technologies. All of the collection’s models share fundamental features and a strong visual identity that makes them instantly recognizable. Today the collection consists of some 15 ranges, including Classic watches such as the Datejust, the Day-Date and the Sky-Dweller, and Professional watches designed for specific activities such as the Explorer, the Submariner and the GMT-Master II.

Rolex watches have proven their reliability in the most extreme conditions, from the deepest reaches of the ocean to the top of the highest mountains, in the air and on the racing circuit.

To ensure the quality of its products, Rolex designs and produces in-house the essential components of its watches (casting of gold alloys, assembly of the movement, case, dial and bracelet, machining and finishing). As the pioneer of the wristwatch, the company is at the origin of numerous major innovations in the watchmaking industry and has filed over 500 patents in the course of its history.

Commitment to making the world a better place

Throughout its history, Rolex has partnered with events, institutions and individuals whose commitment and actions are a source of inspiration. Guided by the vision of its founder, the brand was quick to support and accompany initiatives that aligned with its own values – the quest for excellence, pushing the boundaries and the passion for elegance.

This is how Rolex created the Testimonee concept in 1927 with British swimmer Mercedes Gleitze, who demonstrated the waterproofness of the brand’s watches. Since then, Rolex has teamed up with a large number of exceptional partners, supporting the initiatives of major organizations as well as personal projects of its Testimonees.

A living laboratory

For Hans Wilsdorf, the world was also a living laboratory. In the 1930s, Rolex tested its watches in real-life conditions. Explorers subjected them to some of the most extreme conditions in the least hospitable corners of the globe. But, over time, these expeditions also highlighted the fragility of the planet’s ecosystems and the need to preserve them. Rolex therefore gave its full support to the adventurers who went on to become pioneers in protecting the environment.

Today, Rolex is linked to more than 100 major international events ranging from The Championships, Wimbledon, to the Architecture Exhibition at La Biennale di Venezia and the Oscars® ceremony, while also enjoying close ties with more than 80 renowned institutions, such as The R&A, the Teatro alla Scala in Milan and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. The brand also has more than 140 Testimonees, including tennis legend Roger Federer, marine biologist Sylvia Earle and filmmaker Martin Scorsese. In addition, two programmes were created: the Rolex Awards for Enterprise and the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative. The former supports individuals with innovative projects in response to major challenges, while the latter champions excellence in the arts and culture to ensure the world’s artistic heritage is passed on to the next generation.

Since the beginning, the story of Rolex has been characterized by the quest for perfection and the ambition to push back the boundaries.

To strive to do better, to never give up, to think differently. Thanks to its founder Hans Wilsdorf, who believed in human potential above all, the brand has continued to innovate and grow, thereby guaranteeing its long-lasting success.

Share this page