2016年8月出版

閱讀需時:5分鐘

電影製作人、探險家兼勞力士代言人占士・金馬倫多年來一直佩戴OYSTER PERPETUAL SUBMARINER腕錶。

熱愛潛水的占士・金馬倫(James Cameron),暢談這枚傳奇腕錶如何成為他的忠實夥伴。他亦分享了自己從探索海洋最深處到登上荷里活巔峰的非凡經歷。

Submariner腕錶一直是我的忠實夥伴,與我並肩探索深海、發展電影事業。這枚腕錶體現了我的所想所求:在漫長旅程中仍然堅定可靠;力臻至善但保持低調;氣派優雅而不落俗套;從不招搖卻非寂寂無名。它喜歡大海,無懼壓力,與我一樣。

二十多歲時,我身無分文,當時的我鍾愛水肺潛水和自由潛水。我渴望擁有一枚理想的潛水表,我所認識和尊敬的潛水員均會佩戴這枚腕錶。購買Submariner前,我已知道它是潛水界公認的最佳腕錶。當你擁有它,便標誌着你是一位真正的潛水員。潛水不再是業餘興趣,而是一份使命。你與海洋的關係從此變得緊密深厚,終生不渝。

「這宛如一枚婚戒,代表了對大海的盟誓。」

昔日,潛水錶是最不可或缺的工具,讓潛水員在沒有空氣的極端環境下存活。海底世界引人入勝,但我們能逗留的時間始終有限。全靠潛水錶,我們才能準確知悉需要返回水面的時刻。

我於1970年開始學習潛水,當時潛水電腦尚未出現。我們會使用美國海軍潛水深度指南來決定停留水底的時間,在吸入過多氮氣前返回水面。那時候,腕錶、深度計及氧氣桶的壓力計是潛水的三大必備裝置。更專業的話,還會配備指南針。

當時的腕錶掌握着潛水員的生死。即使現在已是電腦化年代,但我仍會設定腕錶外圈作為後備。電腦有時會失靈,但我的勞力士絕對不負所託。

「每次潛水當天早上,我一定會佩戴Submariner腕錶,給自己心理準備。這每次都讓我十分興奮,因為我知道自己即將會探索新的地方,甚至可能是無人涉足之地。」

我於1986年完成《異形》拍攝後,便隨即開展長達一年的潛水之旅。這是我執導三年來首個假期,闊別海洋這麼久,可謂於心有愧。我存了一點錢,終於能夠擁有夢寐以求的Rolex Submariner腕錶。這枚腕錶亦讓我躋身資深潛水員之列。

不少人都知道,我除了睡覺以外,無時無刻不戴着此錶,26年來我從未想過買其他腕錶。歷年來,我曾獲贈不少精美腕錶,但最終都只放在抽屜裡不會佩戴。我告訴好友不要再送上腕錶作為生日禮物,因為我已找到我的唯一愛錶。

製作下一部電影《深淵》(1989年)時,我與世界各地的海洋專家合作:深海探險家擔任電影顧問,機械人專家為我們提供遙控潛水器,還有研究用潛水器駕駛員、屬水下攝影團隊的資深潛水員等等。一如所料,他們大多佩戴Submariner腕錶。我們都與海洋和潛水結下不解之緣,而Submariner腕錶正是我們這群人的標誌。

我從不忠於特定品牌。汽水、鞋履、汽車無一例外。我不認為品牌能夠界定我的身份,這是我一直以來的想法。然而,當我回看人生,發現勞力士品牌對我意義之重大,實在令我有點驚訝。

若說我忠於此錶,都有些輕描淡寫。事實上,這枚腕錶已成為了我的忠實夥伴,在嚴酷狀況下為我精準報時,不論在南極、鐵達尼號沉船位置、史上最具挑戰的電影場景,甚或是「挑戰者深淵」(Challenger Deep)都未曾變改。無論朋友是否潛水員,我都會贈送他Submariner腕錶,將我對勞力士的忠誠化為行動。我的人生有兩大方向,一是藝術和講故事,二是工程和物理學。我把這兩項熱衷的愛好合併起來,便成為一名電影製作人,因為這一行業正需要借助先進技術來表達我的藝術想法。在講故事的過程中,我會使用現今最先進的電腦技術。撇開視覺效果,基本電影製作亦涉及精密機器,所運用的攝影機皆使用工程學中最優秀的光學技術和組件。

在我的大腦中,掌管工程的一面對精製機器尤其着迷,譬如渦輪增壓賽車引擎、直升機旋翼系統和太空船火箭引擎。人腦能夠創造出無數精密機械,保護我們前往肉體無法抵禦的地方,上天下海,甚或是另一個宇宙,實在太叫人著迷了。探險時,我必須依靠機器讓我在最惡劣的環境下生存。深海水壓之大,即使是最堅硬的金屬,要承受這般極端壓力也絕非易事。因此我知道我必須全心相信優秀的工程設計和製作精密的潛水器,才能存活下去。

真正的優雅該儼如禪學般簡樸。戴上潛水錶探索數百呎下的深海,四周漆黑無光,視線會被面罩或頭盔阻擋,也會出現水流扭曲光線的情況,能見度極低,更會因氮麻醉而令頭腦麻木,所以我需要一枚顯示清晰簡潔的腕錶。此外,可靠性能同樣必不可少。腕錶必須堅固,才能抵擋最嚴酷的情形。以往我即使身處黑暗、能見度低和水流強大的地方,讀取Submariner也從未出現過困難。厚實外圈易於轉動,其正向棘爪令我非常放心。其錶帶亦同樣可靠,我深知腕錶永遠不會意外鬆開,卻極其容易解開,亦可按潛水衣的厚度作迅速調校。

儘管Submariner腕錶堅固耐用,而且用途明確,然而在晚宴或紅地毯活動等隆重場合佩戴亦不突兀。即使穿梭不同社會階層,並不代表我們要失去自我。勞力士潛水錶讓我從不迷失。

「不論是乘搭和平號(Mir)、33次下潛至鐵達尼號沉船位置,或是憑《鐵達尼號》登上奧斯卡舞台,我一直佩戴Submariner腕錶。」

即使潛航全球最深處、最人跡罕至的地方,或出席星光熠熠的紅地毯活動,在這兩個截然不同的世界,此腕錶都是最適合亦是唯一的選擇。世上再沒有另一枚腕錶能夠完美契合這兩種環境。

在探險、藝術及革新範疇上,我都與勞力士傳統緊密相連。我與此腕錶的其他佩戴者一樣不斷努力,他們在藝術、體育、勘探及科學領域奮鬥,我亦憑著自己的作品,在影壇佔一席之地。這就像兄弟姊妹之間的情誼,共享非凡成就。

談及姊妹情誼,我覺得戴上這款腕錶的女士格外矚目,因為這讓我知道她能夠面對任何任務、環境及挑戰。腕錶與手腕自然結合,呈現出女性堅強能幹的一面,可見此錶並不一定是男士的象徵,而是人類特質的體現:堅定、正直、可靠、優雅、目標明確。

數年前我曾參觀位於日內瓦的勞力士廠房,這使我更懂得欣賞每枚勞力士腕錶背後的科技。在物料、精確公差及多重品質控制方面,整個製造過程均達至最高標準,令我大開眼界。不過,真正打動我的始終是人。生產工序驟似無情感可言,事實上卻是製錶匠表達意志、目標及熱誠的一種方式。憑藉他們對製錶的自豪與奉獻精神,這些腕錶即使在全球最偏遠的極地,亦始終可靠無比。

D-blue色錶面的Rolex Deepsea紀念版腕錶是我的固定夥伴。不論身處何地,不論執行什麼任務,此腕錶均令我回想人生的特別時刻,憶起我們一支小型創作團隊建造並操作深海挑戰者號(DEEPSEA CHALLENGER)潛水器的情景,以及成功潛入地球最深處──挑戰者深淵的畫面。這枚腕錶把我與其他探險者連繫起來,我們均佩戴着勞力士腕錶探索地球最遙遠的角落。我的好友唐・威路士(Don Walsh)於1960年潛進挑戰者深淵時,正是佩戴勞力士腕錶。

近百年來,勞力士一直是顯赫成就與非凡探索的象徵。我很自豪能夠置身於此顯赫傳統之中。

分享此頁面

Published in August 2016

Time to read: 5 min

FILMMAKER, EXPLORER AND ROLEX TESTIMONEE JAMES CAMERON HAS BEEN THE PROUD OWNER OF AN OYSTER PERPETUAL SUBMARINER FOR DECADES.

James Cameron tells the story of the passion for diving that turned the legendary watch into his inseparable companion. He shares extraordinary adventures few have ever seen — from exploring the deepest ocean to conquering the heights of Hollywood.

The Submariner has been my constant companion throughout all of my work as a deep ocean explorer, and my film career. This watch represents the things I aspire to be – strong and dependable over the long haul, striving for excellence but understated, classy but not glitzy or gauche, never ostentatious but never anonymous. And it loves the ocean – it loves the water and is not afraid of pressure. Like me.

When I was in my twenties, without any money, I was a passionate scuba diver and free diver. I wasn’t looking for ‘A’ diving watch, I was looking for ‘THE’ diving watch, the one that the divers I knew and respected were wearing. Before I bought my Submariner, I knew it as the watch the dive community considered the best. When you had one, it signified that you’d arrived – that you were a diver to be reckoned with. That for you, diving wasn’t a hobby, it was a mission. And that your relationship with the ocean was deep and lifelong.

“It was a kind of wedding ring, a symbol of your marriage to the sea.”

From the earliest days of diving, a dive watch has been the most important instrument for keeping yourself alive in a realm that’s inherently hostile to humans – there’s NO AIR. As much as the underwater world may seduce you with its wonders, you can only spend limited time there. At some point you have to go back. And you rely on your dive watch to tell you precisely when.

I learned to dive in 1970, before there were dive computers. We learned to use the US Navy tables, to know how long we could stay on the bottom, before we’d absorbed too much nitrogen and had to come back up. In those days you dove with three instruments: a watch, a depth gauge, and a pressure gauge on your tank that told you how much air was left. And if you were fancy, a compass.

Divers literally live or die by their watch. Even now, in the age of diving computers, I always set my bezel as a backup. Computers can fail, but my Rolex won’t.

“When I put it on in the morning, the day of a dive, it is part of the ritual of mental preparation. And part of the thrill of knowing I’m about to go to a place that not only have I never been to before, but that possibly no one has ever been to before.”

When I finished Aliens in 1986, it was the first break I had in three years of work establishing myself as a filmmaker. So, I went on a year-long dive safari, to apologize to the ocean for being away for so long. I had a little money, so I could afford the Rolex Submariner I’d always wanted. And, with my Submariner, I joined the ranks of the master divers I’d admired.

The rest is history. I wore that watch at all times, except while sleeping, for the next 26 years and I never needed another watch after that. I’ve been given a number of fine watches as presents over the years, but they collect dust on my dresser. I finally told my good friends, if you’re thinking of getting me a watch for my birthday, don’t, because I’ve got my watch.

When I made my next film, The Abyss (1989), I met people from all over the ocean community – from the deep ocean explorers who became advisors to the film, to the marine roboticists who supplied our remotely operated vehicles, to research submersible pilots, to the seasoned divers of our underwater photography team. And it was no surprise that most of them wore a Submariner. We all shared a deep commitment to the ocean and diving. The Submariner was a symbol of that club.

I’m not a person who’s ever spent a moment’s thought on brand loyalty. I’m not loyal to sodas, shoes, or any particular make of car. I don’t think of brands as defining my identity. It’s just not how I view the world. I’m a bit surprised to look back over my life and realize how much the Rolex brand has meant to me.

To say that I am loyal to these watches is an understatement. They’ve always been loyal to me, and kept perfect time in harsh conditions – from the South Pole, to the Titanic wreck, to the sets of some of the most challenging motion pictures ever made, to the bottom of the Challenger Deep itself. I return that loyalty; giving a Submariner to a friend, whether that person is a diver or not, is the highest compliment I can pay. I have always been pulled in two directions – toward the arts and storytelling in one direction, and toward engineering and physics in the other. I have reconciled these two passions by becoming a filmmaker, an artist who relies on advanced technology for my art. To tell a story, I may use some of the most advanced computing technologies in existence. Even setting aside visual effects, basic filmmaking has always involved precision machines – cameras that use the finest optics and movements human engineering could provide.

The engineering side of my brain loves finely made machines, from a turbocharged racing engine to the rotor system of a helicopter, to the rocket engine of a spacecraft. I am endlessly drawn to the idea that our minds can create these precision machines that then can take us places our bodies couldn’t otherwise – across the sky, under the ocean, even to other worlds. As an explorer, I rely on machines to keep me alive in the harshest realm imaginable, in the deep ocean where the extreme pressure tests the strongest metals to their limits. I know that I’ll survive only by trusting the principles of engineering, and the precision fabrication that went into my diving machine.

Real elegance is a kind of Zen simplicity. In a dive watch, where you may be hundreds of feet down, in darkness, with your vision impaired by a mask or helmet, by the distorting effect of water, by bad visibility, even by the mind-numbing effects of nitrogen narcosis, I want a simple, clear display. And I want reliability. I want a tough watch that can take on the harshest elements. In darkness, low visibility and strong currents, I’ve never had difficulty reading my Submariner. The bezel is chunky and easy to turn, with a positive detent I can trust. The band is reliable – I know that watch will never come off my wrist – and yet it’s extremely easy to unsnap and quickly resize to fit over my wetsuit.

Despite its ruggedness and clear sense of purpose, I’m comfortable wearing my Submariner to the most upscale function, whether it be a black tie dinner or a red carpet event. One should be able to code-shift across all social strata without losing one’s sense of self. My Rolex dive watch keeps me grounded.

“I wore the same Submariner in the Mir submersibles, on my 33 dives to the Titanic wreck, that I wore on stage when I won the Oscars for Titanic.”

Just as I’m at home in both worlds, my watch is the right choice – the only choice – for both the deepest and remotest places on the planet and the glitziest red carpet event. I don’t believe there’s another watch in the world that wouldn’t look out of place in one or the other of those settings.

I feel connected to the Rolex legacy through my own actions as an explorer, artist and innovator. Through my work, I’m earning a place among the other wearers of this watch, who have done so many remarkable things, in the arts, in sports, in exploration and the sciences. It is a brotherhood – and sisterhood – of accomplishment.

And speaking of sisterhood, I love how the watch looks on a woman’s wrist. It tells me something about that woman – that she’s not afraid to say she is equal to any task, any environment, any challenge. Seeing this watch looking so at home on the wrist of a strong, capable woman, makes me realize that the watch doesn’t represent values that are necessarily masculine, but values that are human: strength, integrity, reliability, elegance, clarity of purpose.

My tour of the Rolex facilities in Geneva a few years ago left me with a much deeper appreciation of the science and technology that goes into every Rolex watch. Seeing the fabrication process, with its insanely high standards for materials, precise tolerances, and layers of quality control was illuminating. But what really impressed me were the people. What we think of as a dispassionate process actually turned out to be the expression of the will, the purpose and the passion of the people who stand behind these watches. Their pride and dedication are what make these watches so dependable when we take them out into the world, into the craziest and most remote places possible.

The commemorative Rolex Deepsea with a D-blue dial that is now my constant companion is a reminder, no matter where I am or what I’m doing, of a very special moment in my life, when my tiny team of innovators built and operated our DEEPSEA CHALLENGER submersible and accomplished our dream of diving to the deepest place on the planet, the Challenger Deep. The watch connects me to the legacy of all the other explorers who’ve carried their Rolexes to the most distant corners of the Earth, including my friend Don Walsh who took one to the Challenger Deep in 1960.

Rolex has stood for accomplishment and exploration for almost a century. I’m proud to be a small part of this great tradition.

Share this page