他们是模型师、生产规划员、工程师或制表师:在劳力士,数十名多才多艺的原型制作者,为新设计的部件和腕表首次赋予形态和功能。腕表正式发布的数年前,他们就秘密制成了原型表款。

在设计部的一个角落里,一个简陋的工场沐浴在南面的阳光中,在豪华的木质与皮革装饰的工作室环境里显得特别醒目。无穷无尽的想象,正是在这里在纸张上或大尺寸平板电脑上呈现。一款新表壳首次被赋予实在的形态,表壳上复杂的曲线,依照详细设计图由人手精心锉削。这是实物原大的模型,最初用一块黄铜铸造而成,全凭经验丰富的模型师或原型制作师成品精确到百分之一毫米,以非凡的技能和锐利的目光,令成品精确至百分之一毫米。准确的感觉和稳定的手是一切的关键。模型师甚至会仔细“聆听”锉刀的声音,去感觉金属的锉削程度。这种雕工和细致,再加上严谨的态度和技术上的精确感,使成品与处理精密机芯的制表大师特质相得益彰。

化为实物

这是原型制作的第一步,是创意和研发过程中一个精心安排的阶段。在这个阶段中,通常都会制作其中两至三个极具美感的原型,藉以微调款式,并确认概念。要感受表盘的光影效果和新款式的格调,必须有实物才能做到。事实表明,将纸张和屏幕上精彩的创意概念变成实物,外观会显得较为沉闷乏味,甚至会演变成截然不同的风格。此外,整体视觉效果也可能会改变对个别零件的观感,因此可能需要改变这些零件的设计。

归根到底,设计模型还有相当理性和技术上的用途。这个过程会利用创意概念将模型实体化,之后形成传感装置的模板,该模板将会复制表壳的精确三维尺寸,以便制作可实际运行的原型──这就是新腕表制作过程的下一步。

化为实物

自主团队

原型制作师将详细的设计概念、工程概念与技术规格,转化成功能齐全的时计或部件,在精确度和表面处理上,都符合蚝式及切利尼腕表的要求。这些制作师的能力和工作要求,使得这个由数十人组成的团队,必须掌握几乎全套的制表技能及才干。  例如,一个团队有可能会为一个项目制作出20条原型表带。一年之内,团队就可能会制作500个表壳和300条表带,用于促进开发和测 试程序。 所用的原型表盘将近900个,其中有50多个在2015年推出。

制表工艺 自主团队

如此精心努力制作出来的原型,几乎与几年后某款产品或机芯最终上市的版本毫无二致。这些原型制作师被贴切地称为“une manufacture dans la manufacture”(法语“工厂中的工厂”)──意指他们是劳力士内部的自主制表团队。为开发和制造劳力士原型表而汇集于此的技能和机械,足以媲美某些高级制表商的整体生产力。

此外,原型制作师的工作类似制作高级定制腕表“pièce unique”(孤品),难度也不亚于此。他们从原料开始,精心制造出一只功能齐全且造工精美的单次试用腕表,或者一小套十二只的腕表系列,甚至连机芯细小零件的装饰和宝石镶嵌部件,都能够一一细致呈现。

制表工艺 分析

样样精通

大多数原型制作师在他们的专业之中至少拥有十年经验。他们当中有很多人已熟练掌握与团队有关的多种工艺和制作技能,例如设计、表壳及表带制作、陶瓷材料或机械机芯,而且其中有很多人会在原型制作生涯中继续积累这些丰富知识和技能。

这种灵活的特点,使他们面对多种类型的部件和制造方法都能游刃有余。他们用来制造可实际运行的原型腕表时,使用的贵金属和其他材料均与最终成品无异。

制表工艺 样样精通

在此过程中,原型制作师将技艺融入独特的工程和机械风格。电脑数控(CNC)加工、放电加工、精密激光焊接、铣削、抛光等最新的自动化机器,与较为传统的人手操控车床并驾齐驱。这些专门的原型制表工场唯一欠缺的,就是最重型的大规模生产设备。

原型制作师多才多艺,但绝非偏才,而是当之无愧的全才:他们的目标是毫不偏离规定公差。这一点对于制作机芯微小零件的原型制作师更为关键,因为往往要求达到以微米为单位的精确度。每位原型制作师都要验证自己的作品质量,并且需要立即知晓结果。尺寸为几毫米的复杂齿轮,可与原始工业设计进行对比,将两者的图像在屏幕上用显微镜放大即可。放大250倍后,仔细观察零件表面的每一毫米,确保与电脑辅助图纸一致。

表壳磨光

不合格件极其罕见,而出现偏差的情况其实是故意为之,目的是补偿小规模原型制作方法与最终生产方法之间的细微差异,以及消除可能对腕表不同零件之间的平衡造成的影响。这种预测能力的天赋,也是原型制作师必须具备的另一项特质。

原型制作师提前数年开始制作一款腕表,因此他们往往是最先制作某个专利新部件,或最先应用最新科技的人。他们需要寻找方法成功地做好这些事情。他们极少需要在全面生产时标注可能会遇到的障碍,但是会鼓励他们这样做。除了严谨、精确和方法之外,即兴创作的能力也同样是这份工作的重要基础。

仔细分析

例如,他们能够做出新工具,或修改某种标准机器,用以制作新部件或新的表面处理效果。

近年来,随着美学要求不断提高,机械腕表越趋复杂,性能和耐用标准的要求日渐严格,原型腕表和原型制作师也变得日益重要。与此同时,支持这项重要活动的技术也在不断发展进步。尽管也可以通过电脑模拟的方式,以空前细致的程度来检查和测试腕表独立部件和整体(包括机芯)的外观和技术性能,原型制作仍然是至关重要的一环。由于技术和原型制作能力都进步,许多曾是异想天开的构思已成为切实可行的创新做法。

细心修饰

高瞻远瞩

劳力士星期日历型 40配备新型Chronergy擒纵系统及3255型机械机芯。这款擒纵系统的第一批原型,其实早在大约十年之前已经开始制作;至于整个3255型机芯,实物诞生时间比正式上市提早六年。一年之内大约制作出十套原型机芯;而在此之前,类似Chronergy这样的原型系统已逐一接受测试。

制表工艺 高瞻远瞩

相比之下,原型工场在2012年从零开始为实验性质的Rolex Deepsea Challenge制作原型,经过连日不停工作,不到一个月就已大功告成。这件即兴发挥但又精心计算制造的作品,在完成后的数星期内,便须在真实环境接受严格测试:他们成功制作的出色腕表,伴随詹姆斯・卡梅隆(James Cameron)的DEEPSEA CHALLENGER潜艇成功潜入海洋最深处。大家一致认为,若非有如此强大的原型制作能力,就不会成就如此精湛的制表工艺。

制表工艺 制作原型

然而,原型制作师却极少公开展示他们的技能。原型制作本身必须保密,因此必须秘而不宣。原型制作师虽然默默无闻,但是自己能按照要求,精心制作每件独一无二的原型,他们亦可以为此洋洋自得。不过,某些原型制作师也可能会戴上自己几年前参与开发的某款劳力士腕表。好像戴着游艇名仕型 II面露微笑的这个人,就曾经首次制作出隐藏于这枚腕表内的几个细小创新部件。

制表工艺 游艇名仕型 II

分享此页面

They are modellers, production planners, engineers or watchmakers: dozens of multi-skilled prototype makers at Rolex give shape and function to newly designed components and watches for the first time. They secretly bring timepieces to life years before launch.

In a corner of the design department, a stark workshop bathed in southern light stands out from the more luxurious wood and leather setting of the modern studio where imagination is put to paper – or drawn up on large tablet computers. A new watch case is taking physical shape for the very first time, its complex curves painstakingly filed by hand on the basis of detailed designs. This is a full-scale model, initially milled from a slab of brass and finished to within one-hundredth of a millimetre thanks to the skill and eye of the experienced modeller or design prototypist. Feel and a steady hand count for everything. The modeller even “listens” to his or her file to sense how much metal is being shaved. Such sculpting craft and finesse are accompanied by rigour and a sense of technical precision that match those of a master watchmaker at work on an intricate mechanical movement.

Physical reality

This is the first stage of prototype making, a highly orchestrated phase of the creative and research and development process. Generally two or three of these aesthetic prototypes will be made to refine styling choices and validate the concept. Nothing matches the real thing in order to sense the play of light on surfaces and the emotional appeal of a new form; bright ideas on paper and screen have been known to look duller in real life, and take another path as a result. Furthermore, the visual impact of the whole can change the outlook on individual parts, and their design may consequently be altered.

Ultimately, the design model also has an eminently rational and technical purpose. It harnesses the creative concept and turns it into physical reality, forming the template for the sensing device that will reproduce the exact, three-dimensional measurements of the case for the functional prototypes – the next step in the process of creating a new watch.

Physical reality

Autonomous Teams

Prototype makers transform detailed design and engineering concepts and specifications into fully functioning timepieces or components, with the exacting precision and finish required of a final Oyster and Cellini model. Their ability, and the demands placed on them, are such that they encompass nearly the whole fabricating skill set and capacity of a watchmaking manufacture in a team of a few dozen people.  A single team, for example, can end up making 20 prototype bracelets for a project. In a year more than 500 cases and 300 bracelets may be made to fuel the development and testing process. Nearly 900 prototype dials were used to ultimately arrive at more than 50 dials launched in 2015.

Watchmaking autonomous teams

This symphonic effort produces prototypes that are indistinguishable from the final product years before a given watch or movement is due to market, made by what is aptly known as “une manufacture dans la manufacture” – an autonomous watchmaking plant within Rolex. The skills and machinery brought together for prototype development and construction at Rolex rival the entire manufacturing capacity of some high-end watchmakers.

Furthermore, the prototype makers’ task is similar to crafting a pièce unique in fine watchmaking and no less demanding. From raw material they create a fully functioning and aesthetically polished one-off watch, or a small series of a dozen watches, even down to any decoration of tiny parts of the movement and gem-set items.

Watchmaking analysis

Masters of all Trades

Most prototype makers have at least a good decade of experience in their trades. Many have acquired an astonishing range of specialist skills in different aspects of craft and manufacturing related to their teams – design, case and bracelet fabrication, ceramics, or the mechanical movement – and many continue to do so during their prototyping career.

Such flexibility allows them to handle a wide range of components and fabrication methods, using the same precious metals and other materials used in the final watch to fabricate functional prototypes.

Watchmaking masters of all trades

This is where the prototype makers’ craft takes on a distinct engineering and mechanical flavour. Computer-controlled (CNC) machining, Electrical Discharge Machining, fine laser welding, milling, polishing… the latest automated machinery rubs shoulders with more traditional, manually controlled lathes. Only the heaviest, large-scale production equipment is lacking in the dedicated prototype workshops.

Despite their immense versatility, prototype makers are masters of all their trades: they set out to achieve zero deviation from the set tolerances. This is all the more critical for those who make tiny parts of the movement, which often command precision measured in microns. Each prototype maker verifies the quality of their own work and is aware of the outcome immediately. Complex gear wheels measuring a few millimetres can be compared with the original industrial design by superimposing images of the two on-screen using a microscope. Every millimetre of the part’s surface, magnified 250 times, is scrutinized to ensure that it is faithful to the computer-aided drawing.

Case polishing

Rejects are extremely rare and where deviation does exist, it was intentional, to compensate for infinitesimal differences between small-scale prototype fabrication and final production methods, and their likely impact on the balance between the different parts in a watch. This gift of foresight is another quality demanded of the prototype maker.

By working on watches years in advance, prototype makers are often the first to make a patented new component or apply new technology. It is their job to find ways of doing so successfully. They have rarely been left wanting, but they are encouraged to flag likely hurdles for full production. Much as rigour, precision and method are essential foundations for their job, so is a capacity for improvisation.

Close analysis

They are capable of creating new tooling or modifying a standard machine in order to be able to make a new component or finish, for example.

With ever greater aesthetic requirements, more complex mechanical watches, more demanding performance and durability criteria, the importance of prototypes and prototype makers has grown continuously over the years. And so has the technology to support this vital activity. Although the appearance and technical performance of independent components as well as the whole, including the movement, can also be scrutinized and tested to an unprecedented degree by computer simulations, prototyping remains crucial. But the combined growth of technology and prototyping capacity has made feasible innovations that were once a figment of the imagination.

Careful finishing

Years ahead of time

First prototypes of the new Chronergy escapement were made about a decade before the new mechanism was launched for the calibre 3255 movement in the Rolex Day-Date 40. Calibre 3255 as a whole took physical shape about six years before its launch. About 10 prototype movements were made in just the space of a year, after individual systems such as Chronergy had themselves been tested as prototypes.

Watchmaking years ahead of time

In contrast, it took less than a month for the prototype workshops to build the experimental Rolex Deepsea Challenge from scratch in 2012, working virtually round the clock at times. Their improvisational, yet calculated, work faced a real-life test like no other within weeks of being finished: the watches they made successfully dived to the deepest point in the oceans with James Cameron’s DEEPSEA CHALLENGER submersible. By all accounts, the watchmaking feat would not have been possible without such prototype-making capacity.

Watchmaking prototyping

Nonetheless, public demonstrations of skill are rare. By its very nature, prototyping is cloaked in secrecy, and that is the way it shall remain. Prototype makers are left to quietly take pride in crafting each singular item asked of them. But a few might be wearing a Rolex watch that they had a hand in developing several years earlier. Like that Yacht-Master II on a wrist, which conceals a couple of innovative, tiny components that were brought to life for the very first time by its smiling wearers.

Watchmaking Yacht-Master II

Share this page