История Rolex

Неразрывно связана с дальновидностью ее основателя Ганса Вильсдорфа

Часы-первопроходцы

1953

В начале 1950-х годов Rolex разработала профессиональные часы, функции которых выходили далеко за рамки одного лишь измерения времени. Эти часы предназначались людям, которые профессионально занимались глубоководными погружениями, воздухоплаванием, альпинизмом, научной разведкой. Они вызвали живейший интерес и стали еще одним достижением в часовом деле.

Эверест

1953

В 1953 году экспедиции сэра Джона Ханта, во время которой сэр Эдмунд Хиллари и Тенцинг Норгэй достигли вершины Эвереста, были предоставлены часы Oyster Perpetual.

Explorer

1953

Explorer

Вобрав в себя опыт одной из блестящих глав истории человеческих достижений, часы Oyster Perpetual Explorer, выпущенные в 1953 году в честь покорения Эвереста, сразу стали легендой.

Submariner

1953

Часы Submariner, увидевшие свет в 1953 году, стали первыми часами для дайверов с водонепроницаемостью до глубины 100 метров. Вращающийся безель часов позволяет дайверам следить за временем погружения.

Идеальный спутникна земле и на море

Идеальный спутник
на земле и на море

Работая над часами Submariner, мы хотели, чтобы они безупречно работали на глубине 200 метров. Похоже, они оказались безупречны в любой ситуации.

Первые межконтинентальные рейсы

1953

С расширением географии полетов в 1950-е годы воздушные линии соединили между собой континенты, быстро перенося путешественников через часовые пояса. Так у людей впервые возникла необходимость знать время сразу в нескольких точках планеты. На заре реактивной эры компания Rolex создала часы, отвечавшие велению времени.

GMT-Master

1955

Часы GMT-Master были специально разработаны для пилотов авиалиний. Они стали официальными часами многих авиакомпаний, в том числе знаменитой американской Pan American World Airways, более известной как Pan Am. Их визуальной особенностью стал двухцветный безель, позволявший отличать день от ночи.

Day-Date

1956

В 1956 году состоялся дебют часов Oyster Perpetual Day-Date. Представленные только в версиях из 18-каратного золота или платины, они стали первыми наручными часами, которые показывали на циферблате дату вместе с полным названием дня недели. Благодаря специально разработанному браслету President часы Day-Date остаются эталоном для влиятельных людей мира.

Лидерство

Лидерство

1956

Часы Rolex уже давно ассоциируются с людьми, которые так или иначе определили ход истории. Независимо от взглядов, убеждений и сферы деятельности, все они неизменно останавливали свой выбор на одних и тех же часах – Day-Date.

ЦЕРН

1956

ЦЕРН, Европейская организация по ядерным исследованиям, обладает первенством в научных исследованиях фундаментальных загадок вселенной. Она оснащена самым мощным в мире ускорителем элементарных частиц. В 1950-х годах ЦЕРН стал одной из первых научных организаций, которые экспериментально подтвердили, что часы Milgauss действительно способны противостоять воздействию электромагнитных полей с магнитной индукцией до 1000 гауссов.

Oyster Perpetual Milgauss

1956

Lady-Datejust

1957

Первый женский хронометр с календарем – Lady-Datejust – стал воплощением классической элегантности и высокой функциональности в часах меньшего размера, лучше подходящего к тонкому женскому запястью.

Deep Sea Special

1960

В 1950-х годах компания Rolex проводила подводные испытания экспериментальных часов Deep Sea Special. С использованием знаний, накопленных благодаря первым двум моделям, создаются третьи часы Deep Sea Special, способные выдержать пребывание на дне Бездны Челленджера Марианской впадины.

Самое глубокое погружение

1960

Дейтона-Бич

1960

Cosmograph Daytona

1963

Выпущенные в 1963 году как хронограф нового поколения, часы Cosmograph быстро приобрели легендарное имя: Daytona. Задуманные как инструмент для водителей, участвующих в гонках на выносливость, часы Cosmograph Daytona отличались ультрапрочным водонепроницаемым корпусом и тахиметрической шкалой на безеле для подсчета средней скорости.

COMEX

COMEX

1963

Rolex является привилегированным партнером компании COMEX (Compagnie Maritime d’Expertises), водолазы которой носят часы Rolex Sea-Dweller во время работ на большой глубине. Компания COMEX, которую возглавлял Анри‑Жермен Делоз, известна своей первопроходческой ролью в освоении морских глубин и является авторитетным специалистом в области глубоководных технологий.

О прочности отношений Rolex и COMEX свидетельствует гипербарическая камера, которая была разработана компанией из Марселя специально для тестирования часов Rolex Deepsea.

Подробнее
Sea-Dweller

Sea-Dweller

1967

В 1967 году появились часы Oyster Perpetual Sea-Dweller, водонепроницаемые до глубины 610 метров. Специально для профессиональных водолазов в корпус часов был встроен гелиевый клапан, позволяющий выпускать в фазе декомпрессии газ гелий, который входит в состав дыхательных смесей и проникает внутрь корпуса часов при работе в барокамере.

Rolex History

Inextricably linked to the visionary spirit of Hans Wilsdorf, its founder

Pioneering Watches

1953

In the early 1950s, Rolex developed professional watches that served as tools and whose functions went far beyond simply telling the time. These watches were intended for professional activities, such as deep-sea diving, aviation, mountain climbing and scientific exploration. The watches generated lasting enthusiasm and became known as the watches
of achievers.

Everest

1953

In 1953, Sir John Hunt’s expedition, in which Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay reached the summit of Mount Everest, was equipped
with Oyster Perpetuals.

The Explorer

1953

The Explorer

Inspired by knowledge gained from this fascinating chapter of human adventure, the Oyster Perpetual Explorer, launched in 1953 to celebrate the victorious ascent of Everest, immediately acquired iconic status.

The Submariner

1953

Launched in 1953, the Submariner was the first divers’ watch waterproof to a depth of 100 metres (330 feet). Its rotatable bezel allows divers to read their immersion time.

Perfect Partneron Land or in the Sea

Perfect Partner
on Land or in the Sea

We invented the Submariner to work perfectly 660 feet under the sea.
It seems to work pretty well at any level.

THE FIRST TRANSCONTINENTAL FLIGHTS

1953

As intercontinental travel developed in the 1950s, airliners began to fly swiftly across several successive time zones. For the first time it became important to know the time in various places in the world, simultaneously. It was the dawn of the jet age, and Rolex responded with a watch to match the spirit of the times.

The GMT-Master

1955

The GMT-Master was developed to meet the specific needs of airline pilots. It became the official watch of several airlines, among them
the famous Pan American World Airways, better known as Pan Am.
Its most distinguishing visual feature was the two-tone bezel which marked daytime from nighttime hours.

The Day-Date

1956

In 1956, the Oyster Perpetual Day-Date made its debut. Available only in 18 ct gold or platinum, it was the first wristwatch to display the date and day of the week spelt out in full in a window on the dial. With the President bracelet, originally created specially for it, the Day-Date continues to be the watch par excellence of influential people.

Leadership

Leadership

1956

Rolex watches have long been associated with those who have, over time, guided the destiny of the world. No matter their vision, their domain of excellence, or their achievements, the one thing these exceptional men and women have in common is often their watch: the Day-Date.

CERN

1956

The European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN), the world's pre-eminent particle physics laboratory, is at the cutting edge of scientific research into the fundamental secrets of the universe. It hosts the world's highest-energy particle accelerator. In the 1950s, CERN was also one of the first scientific institutions to confirm that the Milgauss watch could indeed resist magnetic fields of up to 1,000 gauss.

The Oyster Perpetual Milgauss

1956

Lady-Datejust

1957

The Lady-Datejust was the first ladies’ version of the Rolex date chronometer, carrying its heritage of timeless elegance and functionality in a smaller size perfectly suited to a lady’s wrist.

Deep Sea Special

1960

In the 1950s, Rolex carried out rigorous testing of an experimental watch, called “Deep Sea Special”. Using the knowledge gained from the making of the first two models, the third Deep Sea Special was created to withstand the most extreme conditions - the Challenger Deep portion
of the Mariana Trench.

The Deepest Dive

1960

Rolex Watches History: 1953 - 1967
play/pause mute/unmute
Rolex developed watches for professional activities from the early 1950's. Discover the history of Rolex watches on the Official Website.

Daytona Beach

1960

The Cosmograph Daytona

1963

Launched in 1963 as a new-generation chronograph, the Cosmograph soon gained the name that became the mark of an icon: Daytona. Designed as the ultimate tool for endurance racing drivers, the Cosmograph Daytona was robust, waterproof and featured a
tachymetric scale on the bezel for calculating average speed.

COMEX

COMEX

1963

A preferential relationship was established between Rolex and the Compagnie Maritime d’Expertises (COMEX), whose divers wore Rolex Sea-Dweller watches while working at great depths. The company, headed by Henri Germain Delauze, played a pioneering role in deep-sea diving and remains a world-renowned specialist in hyperbaric engineering and underwater work.

The relationship between Rolex and COMEX is as strong as ever
today, as demonstrated by the hyperbaric tank developed specially
by the Marseille company to test the Rolex Deepsea watches.

Read more
THE SEA-DWELLER

THE SEA-DWELLER

1967

1967 saw the launch of the Oyster Perpetual Sea-Dweller, waterproof to a depth of 610 metres. To meet the needs of professional deep-sea divers, the case was equipped with a helium escape valve so that, during long decompression phases in hyperbaric chambers, the helium from the gas mixtures used could be released without risking damage to the watch.