勞力士製錶工藝

經典藝術

錶面

腕錶的不同面貌

錶面為時計帶來獨有的面貌與身份。錶面具備時、分、秒、日期和其他時間指示的顯示功能。錶面亦把佩戴者和腕錶的機械機芯連在一起。空間細小的錶面,容納了各項指針資訊和不同顯示窗,但同時嚴格遵守各個美學要求,並且清晰易讀。

錶面創作既是真正的藝術,亦是無數技藝的結晶,當中糅合超卓的藝術知識與先進技術。而且,只有極少數的製錶公司如勞力士,精於各個方面的錶面創作,從設計到生產均獨力完成。

珍珠母

珍珠母

迷人萬花筒

珍珠母是神秘魅力與愉悅驚喜的象徵。根據不同來源,珍珠母可能是粉紅色、白色、黑色或黃色。此外,它的色澤深淺及結構亦可按在貝殼哪部份取出而有別。在不同的燈光環境下,它可能看似烏雲密佈的天空、一輪明月,甚或水中的倒影。

勞力士決不選用人工著色的珍珠母。憑藉工匠非凡精湛的技藝,為每枚珍珠母綻放其天然美態及保留原有的色澤。每個珍珠母錶面均獨一無二,與眾不同。

有些人會在折射中看到一道閃電快將把烏雲密佈的天空變得四分五裂,有些人則在滔天雲海中看到燦爛星群。

勞力士錶面
lou4 lik6 si6 biu1 min6
  1. 獨樹一幟的勞力士腕錶錶面,令腕錶更易識別,讀時更易。­
  2. 鐘點標記以18ct金製成,防止光澤消失。
  3. 有上千種獨特款色,多款顏色、質地、花紋和圖案可選,由勞力士獨家提供。
  4. 在勞力士廠房大部份以人手設計製造,力臻完美。
  5. 超卓工藝,精巧細緻,全面展現。
  6. 勞力士之道。

鑲貼鐘點標記

錶面特色

12點鐘位置的勞力士皇冠、阿拉伯或羅馬數字、幾何形狀的經典或專業小時刻度及閃閃發光的寶石鑲嵌-若錶面是腕錶的臉頰,那麼這些標記便正好展現出腕錶的獨特個性。

羅馬時代的下午茶時光

您知道嗎?

腕錶特色大多源於錶面上的種種細節……顏色、寶石、小時刻度、阿拉伯或羅馬數字等。這些設計都為人所熟悉,但有多少人會留意到勞力士錶面上羅馬數字刻度的一項特徵?

在鐘錶的四點鐘位置,刻度以「IIII」而非「IV」標示,這種做法至今依然未有統一明確的解釋。但有一件事可以肯定,就是這個標記源遠流長。古埃及、希臘和及後組成羅馬數字的伊特魯里亞文化均採用「IIII」這個符號。

事實上,直到中世紀晚期,「IV」才開始被人使用,而當第一個機械時鐘於13至14世紀初面世時,「IIII」仍然廣泛通用。這個符號之所以保留至今,皆因不少人認為是其設計可令錶面更見平衡。畢竟,現代風格應否與完美設計相抵觸?

繼續探索

您希望了解更多有關勞力士嗎?

DIALS

The many faces of the watch

The dial gives the watch its face and an identity of its own. It also displays the functions – hours, minutes, seconds, date and other indicators of time. Interface between the wearer and the watch’s mechanical movement, the dial has to accommodate all the information provided by the hands and the different apertures in a very small space, while respecting strict aesthetic and legibility requirements.

Dial creation is nothing less than a true métier d’art, or rather the sum of a number of skills, calling for both great artistic expertise and use of state‑of-the-art technology. Rare are the watchmaking companies that, like Rolex, master in-house all the aspects of dial creation, from design to production.

MOTHER OF PEARL

MOTHER OF PEARL

An enchanting kaleidoscope

Mother-of-pearl is by its nature full of mystery and surprises. Depending on its origin, it can be pink, white, black or yellow and, according to the part of the shell from which it is extracted, it can differ in colour intensity and structure. In different lights it can evoke a stormy sky, a clear moon, iridescent reflections in water.

At Rolex, the mother-of-pearl is never artificially coloured. A lot of work and skill goes into simply enhancing its natural beauty and preserving the original hues. All mother-of-pearl dials are unique pieces. An identical dial will never grace another wrist.

Some will see in its reflections a stormy sky about to be torn asunder by a streak of lightning, others a stunning constellation of billowy clouds.

Rolex dial
di • al
  1. The distinctive face of a Rolex watch, most responsible for its identity and readability.
  2. Characterised by hour markers fashioned from 18 ct gold to prevent tarnishing.
  3. Featuring thousands of unique variations in colour, texture and motifs exclusive to Rolex.
  4. Designed and manufactured in-house, largely by hand, to ensure perfection.
  5. Where an unrivalled dedication to the craft is always on full display.
  6. The Rolex Way.

APPLIQUES

The expressive features of the face

Rolex crown at 12 o’clock, Arabic or Roman numerals, classic or Professional hour markers in geometric shapes or shimmering precious stones in settings – if the dial is the face of the watch, the appliques are the features that give depth to its personality.

TEATIME IN ROMAN TIMES

Did you know?

Much of a watch’s character can be attributed to the host of details on the dial... colour, gems, hour markers, numerals – Arabic or Roman, all so familiar to us. But how many people are conscious of a special feature of the Roman numeral appliques on a Rolex dial?

The use of IIII rather than IV is known as the clockmaker’s four, and no single, definitive reason for its use can be found. One thing is certain: it is far from being a recent convention. The notation IIII was used by the Ancient Egyptians, the Greeks, and later the Etruscans, from whom the Romans adopted it.

In fact, it was not until the late Middle Ages that IV came into use – and when the first mechanical clocks were made, between the 13th and early 14th century, IIII was still in common use. The fact that it remains so today is often thought to be due to the wonderful balance it brings to the dial. After all, should modernity ever be allowed to interfere with perfection?